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CONSENT ORDER

On or about May 1, 2020, the Maryland Board of Examiners for Audiologists, Hearing
Aid Dispensers and Speech-Language Pathologists (the “Board”), received an application for a
reinstatement of license to practice speech-language pathology from Katie Goldberg (the
“Respondent”), License Number 06853. In that application, the Respondent disclosed that she
had been practicing speech-language pathology in the State of Maryland after the expiration of
her license on May 31, 2019.

On July 16, 2020, the Board voted to offer a Pre-Charge Consent Order to the
Respondent, in lieu of issuing charges for violations of the Maryland Audiology, Hearing Aid
Dispensing, and Speech-Language Pathology Act (the “Act”), Md. Code Annotated, Health
Occupations Article (“Health Occ.”), § 2-101 et seq. and the Code of Maryland Regulations
(COMAR), Chapter 10, Subchapter 41.

As a result of that offer, the Respondent and the Board agreed to the following Consent
Order.

FINDINGS OF FACT
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The Board finds that:

Ik The Respondent was originally licensed to practice speech-language pathology in
Maryland on March 12, 2012, under license number 06853. The Respondent’s license expired
on May 31, 2019.

2 On or about May 1, 2020, the Board received a written application from the
Respondent, requesting a reinstatement of license number 06853.

3. In that application, the Respondent indicated that she had been practicing
speech-language pathology in Maryland since the expiration of her license on May 31, 2019.

4. The Respondent indicated that the error was possibly due to her failure to notify
the Board of a change of address.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Based on the foregoing findings of fact, the Board concludes that the Respondent violated
Health Occ., § 2-314(12):

Subject to the hearing provisions of § 2-315 of this subtitle, the Board,
may deny a license or limited license to any applicant, reprimand any
licensee or holder of a limited license, place any licensee or holder of a
limited license on probation, or suspend or revoke a license or limited
license if the applicant, licensee, or holder:

(12) Violates any provision of this title
Health Occ. § 2-301 (a)(1) states that:
Except as otherwise provided in this title, an individual shall be licensed

by the Board before the individual may practice audiology, hearing aid
dispensing, or speech-language pathology, or assist in the practice of
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speech-language pathology in this State.

Health Occ. § 2-311(c) states that:

A licensee shall notify the Board in writing of a change of address within
30 days after the change of address.

The Board finds that this violation of the Act falls within category A.(12) of the
Board’s sanctioning guidelines. See COMAR 10.41.13.04.A.(12). The range of potential
regulatory sanctions for a violation of A.(12) is a reprimand up to revocation of a license and a
$1,000.00 fine. Id. However, the Board may consider certain aggravating factors in determining
whether a sanction should fall outside of the guidelines established by regulation. See COMAR
10.41.13.05.A(2).
Further, pursuant to COMAR 10.41.13.04.C:

Notwithstanding the guidelines set forth in this chapter, in order to

resolve a pending disciplinary action, the Board and licensee may

agree to a surrender of license or a consent order with terms,

sanction, and penalty agreed to by the Board and the licensee.
The Respondent and the Board are thus authorized to enter into an agreement whereby the
Respondent pays the $3,000 fine described in the Order below.

ORDER
Based upon the foregoing Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, it is hereby:

ORDERED that, no later than NINETY (90) DAYS of the effective date of this Order,

the Respondent shall pay to the Board a monctary fine of THREE THOUSAND DOLLARS
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AND ZERO CENTS ($3,000.00), in full, by money order or cashier’s check made payable to
the Board and delivered by certified mail to the Board within NINETY (90) DAYS of the
effective date of this Order. Failure to pay this monetary fine in full to the Board within
NINETY (90) DAYS of the effective date of this Consent Order shall constitute a violation of
this Consent Order; and it is further

ORDERED that if the Respondent violates any of the terms and conditions of this
Consent Order, the Board, in its discretion, after notice and an opportunity for an evidentiary
hearing before the Board, if there is a genuine dispute as to the material facts, or an opportunity
for a show cause hearing before the Board, may impose any other disciplinary sanction which the
Board may have imposed in this case under Health Occ., § 2-314 including reprimand, probation,
suspension, revocation, and/or additional monetary fine, said violation being proven by a
preponderance of the evidence; and it is further

ORDERED that the Respondent shall comply with the Maryland Audiology, Hearing
Aid Dispensing and Speech-Language Pathology Act, Health Occ., § 2-101 ef seq., and all
federal and State laws and regulations governing the practice of speech-language pathology in
Maryland; and it is further

ORDERED that this is a Final Decision and Order of the Board and, as such, is a
PUBLIC DOCUMENT pursuant to Maryland Code Annotated, General Provisions Article §

4-101 ef seq.
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CONSENT

By this Consent, I acknowledge that I have read this Consent Order in its entirety and I
hereby admit the truth of the Findings of Fact and accept and submit to the foregoing Consent
Order and its conditions. I acknowledge the legal authority and jurisdiction of the Board to
initiate these proceedings and to issue and enforce this Consent order. I acknowledge the validity
of this Consent Order as if entered into after the conclusion of a formal evidentiary hearing in
which 1 would have had the right to legal counsel authorized to practice law in Maryland, to
confront witnesses, to give testimony, to request subpoenas for witnesses, to call witnesses on
my own behalf, to introduce testimony and evidence on my own behalf, and to all other
substantive and procedural protections provided by law. I waive these rights, as well as any
appeal rights under Maryland Code Annotated, State Government Article § 10-222.

I sign this Consent Order after having an opportunity to consult with an attorney,
voluntarily and without reservation, and I fully understand and comprehend the language,

meaning, terms, and eftect of this Consent Order.
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NOTARIZATION
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] HEREBY CERTIFY that on this _Z3 day of

, 2020, before me,

a Notary Public of the State and City/County aforesaid, personally appeared Katie Goldberg and

made oath in due form of law that the foregoing was the voluntary act and deed of Katie

Goldberg.
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My Commission Expires:




