Renewal of an Active License
Online Renewal System
Please Note: The processing time for license renewals is 15 to 20 business days.
Frequently Asked Questions about the renewal process
The Renewal Process
The law requires the Board to issue a renewal notice at least 60 days prior to the expiration date of the license. Reminder e-mail notices are sent to all renewal candidates 60 days prior to their renewal.
Once a renewal application is complete it is reviewed by Board staff. If the renewal application is complete the renewal license is issued. It may take up to ten business days for a renewal license to be issued after completion of the online renewal process.
If a licensee is randomly selected for an audit of continuing education the continuing education documentation must be submitted to the Board. The Board will only issue a renewal license for an individual randomly selected for a continuing audit after the documentation has been reviewed and approved. Random audit notices are issued 60 days prior to the expiration date of the license.
Renewal Information for Licenses with Other Expiration Dates
Hearing aid dispensers with a license with an expiration date of January 31, 2023 will receive a renewal notice in late November 2022.
Audiologists and speech-language pathologists with a license that has an expiration date of May 31, 2022 will receive a renewal notice in late March 2022.
The online renewal system will be open on or about the time the paper renewal notice is issued for each eligible renewal population.
An individual that holds an audiology or speech-language pathology license may elect to place the license in an inactive status during the renewal process. Inactive Status Request Form
The inactive status may be reactivated for an additional two (2) two- year cycle, by requesting approval to the board to do so for the additional 2-year cycle of in activity. An additional payment of $25 for inactive status is also required for each board approved inactive status 2-year cycle.
If a licensee fails to comply with the above and it has been less than 5 years from the time of inactivation, the licensee can apply for reinstatement. Reinstatement also requires the payment for renewal of the license, the reinstatement fee and the MHCC fee. Reinstatement also requires that the licensee has submitted proof of compliance with continuing education requirements for Maryland licensure, which are the same as that of an active licensee, including the entire inactive period.
Licensees who choose to reactivate their license after 5 years of inactivity, must apply for reapplication, pay the appropriate fees for such, meet the current requirements for obtaining a license, and, show proof of compliance with continuing education requirements for Maryland licensure, which are the same as that of an active licensee, including the inactive period.
An individual with a license in a non-renewed status may reinstate the license within five years after the non-renewed status begins.
To reinstate a license in a non-renewed status the reinstatement fee of $200.00 is automatically assessed in addition to the renewal fee and the Health Care Commission fee.
If a license is in a non-renewed status for more than five years the individual must reapply for a license and meet or exceed all current minimum requirements in effect at that time. Reapplying for a license includes submission of all required documents. There are no special provisions for individuals that have previously held a license in Maryland.