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STATE BOARD OF OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY PRACTICE
Board Members Term Expires
Deborah Craig, COTA/L June 2001
Judith Blum, OTR/L, Co-Chairperson June 1999
Kristen Meyer Brown, MS, OTR/L, Co-Chairperson June 2000
Frances Silverstein, OTR/L, Board Secretary June 1999
Elena Skittle-Watson, MAS, OTR/L June 2002
Alfred Tyler, Consumer Member June 1999

Vacant, Consumer Member

Staff
Donna Ashman, Execulive Dircclor
Charlene Webb-Jackson, Assisiant

Sara Conway, Sccretary
Jo-Ann Lane, Network Specialist

To contact the Board, call (410) 764-4728 Monday through Friday from :00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., or write to;
Room 314, 4201 Patlerson Ave.. Baltimore, MD 21215-2299

Fee Reduction Approved

The new fees represent a reduction of 7
different fee rates including reducing the OT
license renewal fee from $250 to $160, and the
OTA license renewal fee from $200 to $110.

In addition 3 fees have been eliminated,
including the $10 fee for the statute and
regulations booklet — this document is now

free upon request.

The reduced fees are:

A. Application fee $100
. B. Renewal of OT license 5160

C. Renewal of OTA license 5110

D. Late renewal fee $ 25

E. Reinstatement fee $300

F. Duplicate license fee $ 50

G. Verification of licensure $ 20

H. Review of CCR for sponsors $ 25
I. 2nd Temporary license 3 50

When paying fees to the Board of OT, please
make checks payable to MDBOT. All funds
collected by the Board of Occupational Therapy
Practice are to be used to cover the actual
documented direct and indirect costs of fulfilling
the statutory and regulatory duties of the Board.
Any unspent portions of the Fund may not be
transferred or revert to the General Fund of the
State, but shall remain in the fund to be used for
the purposes specified.

Proposed Regulation Update

Thank you to those who attended the
Board's presentation at the MOTA Annual
Conference in November of 1998. The dialog
and feedback were very helpful to the Board. As
we reported may happen, the Board has already
received recommendations to change the format
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of the chapter on Code of Ethics. The Board
has decided to adopt the recommended text
which presents itselfin amore organized format
of what a licensee “shall” do, “may” do and
“may not” do. Please look at your local library
for the final draft of all of the proposed
regulations to be published in an issue of the
Maryland Register sometime in 1999. You
may also call the Board office for a copy of the
proposed regulations once the draft is finalized
for public comment. Meanwhile, Kristen
Brown will continue to receive feedback on the
proposed regulations at her home address
(14305 Briarwood Terrace, Rockville, MD
20853) or via email (Brownjk@erols.com).
When the proposed regulations are published in
the Maryland Register, a deadline for public
comment will be specified.

New Board Officers

At the August 1998 meeting of the
Board, officers were elected to serve through
July 1999. Congratulations to the Board's
Officers:

Judith Blum, OTR/L, Co-Chairperson
Kristen Brown, MS, OTR/L, Co-Chairperson
Frances Silverstein, OTR/L, Board Secretary

HCACC Fee Reduced

The HCACC fee has been reduced from
$64 to $58 collected biennially during licensure
renewal. The Maryland legislature created the
Health Care Access and Cost Commission
(HCACC) to develop and implement health
care reform in Maryland.  Further, the
legislature required the Health Occupation
Boards to collect the fees as part of your
licensing renewal fee. The next collection will
occur during June 2000. You may browse the
HCACC website at www hcacc. state. md.us
There, you will find recent reports and
brochures on projects such as small group
reform and HMO performance evaluations

12/31/99 — Deadline for Continuing

Education - PLAN ACCORDINGLY....
Please remember that if you intend to
renew your license before its expiration on
6/30/2000, per COMAR 10.46.04, the time
frame for earning the continuing education credits
required for licensure renewal extends from
01/01/98 through 12/31/99. This schedule
allows for a prospective review of continuing
education relative to license renewal rather than
a retrospective review. It is not permissible to
renew your license without attesting to
completion of the required continuing education.
A summary of the requirements are as follows:

Purpose

The Board of Occupational Therapy
Practice has established regulations for continued
competency. When an occupational therapist or
occupational therapy assistant applies for the
renewal of a license, that licensee shall be
required to certify to the Board the licensee's
involvement in professional educational activities
updating competency in occupational therapy
theory and practice and to provide documentation
to that effect upon the Board's request.

Scope

The objectives of continuing competency are:
(1) Maintenance of professional competency;
(2) Improvement of professional skills.

Unit Requirements

A, Definition of Contact Hour:

(1) "Contact hour" means 1 hour spent in a
continuing education activity that meets the
requirements of the Board and is approved as
outlined in this chapter.

(2) "Contact hour" excludes refreshment breaks,
receptions, other social gatherings, and meals that
do not include an acceptable educational activity.

B, Contact Hours Required for License Renewal:
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[F LICENSED FOR: LICENSURE DATES: CONTACT HOURS
REQUIRED

More than 2 years prior to July 1, 1998 24 hours

Less than 2 years, but between July 1, 1998

More than 1 year and June 30, 2000 12 hours

Less than | year between July 1, 1999

and June 30, 2000 zero hours

Time Frame

The period for completing education
requirements extends from January 1, 1998
through December 31, 1999

Documentation of Continuing Education

A A Continuing Education Audit
Form (obtained from the Board office) must be
completed and submitted. This form will
serve as a cover page to the following
documentation.

B. PRE-APPROVED COURSES -- A
certificate of completion is required to eamn
credit for courses which have been pre-
approved by the Board. (A list of pre-
approved courses offered between 1/1/98 -
12/31/99 is available from the Board
office.)

C. NON PRE-APPROVED
COURSES -- must include the following
documentation:

. an hour-by-hour agenda of the course;

. a course description;

. a description of the presenter’s/speaker's
qualification; and,

. verification of course completion (such
as a certificate of completion).

D. Retain original documentation. Submit
copies for Board review. Retain records
for four (4) years.

E. Submission of any false
statement regarding continuing education
may result in formal disciplinary action by
the Board.

F. Failure to substantiate contact
hours upon request of the Board may
result in suspension or revocation of
licensure.

Audit of Continuing Competency

The Board shall aundit the
continuing education records of a random
selection of licensees. Do not forward
continuing competency documentation to
the Board unless you have received a
written NOTIFICATION OF AUDIT.

Additional Information

Refer to COMAR 1046.04 for
complete regulations. A statute and
regulations manual is distributed to each
licensee at the time of original application.
The regulations relative to continuing
competency requirements appear on pages 31-
38
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Board Member Vacancy

Effective June 30, 1999 there will be
one vacancy for a licensed occupational
therapist on the Board of Occupational
Therapy Practice. The eligibility requirements
are as follows:

(1) Be a resident of this State at the
time of nomination and appointment and for
the duration of the term of the member; and

(2) For at least 3 of the 5 years
immediately before appointment have been
engaged in:

(i) Practicing occupational therapy;

(i1) Teaching occupational therapy, or

(iii) Performing research in
occupational therapy.

The term of a member is 4 years.
Interested Occupational Therapists should
contact: MOTA nominating Committee, P.O.
Box 2741, Columbia, MD 21045,

Unit 89

Maryland Board of Occupational Therapy
4201 Patterson Ave., Room 314
Baltimore, MD 21215-2299

Impaired Professionals Update

The Maryland Occupational Therapy
Association (MOTA) has added voice mail
boxes to its telephone system and has included
an option for obtaining referrals for impaired
professionals. The number to call is 410-290-
3283,

Complaint Process

Another area in which the Board has
experienced growth is in the receipt of
complaints against practitioners. In order to
lodge a complaint, it must be submitted in
writing preferably using a complaint form
supplied by the Board. The Board considers
every written complaint and determines the
appropriate course of action. The Board has
the authority to take action when a violation of
the occupational therapy statute has occurred.
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OT BOARD OFFICE
Standard Operating Procedures (FYI)

Licensure: Verification

A written verification of a licensee’s status may
be provided. A request must be in writing to the
Board, and include:

(1) Name of the licensee to be verified; and

(2) Address where the completed verification is
to be forwarded; and

(3) A money order or check in the amount of the
verification of licensure fee established by the
Board in COMAR 1046.0501. (NOTE:
currently the fee is $20.)

Licensure: Name Change

An applicant or licensee shall report a change of
name, in writing, within 30 days of the change.
Notification must include:

(1) Notarized copy of legal documentation of
change, such as marriage certificate or court
order: and,

(2) Return of official license bearing former
name; and,

(3) Return of pocket license bearing former name.
(NOTE: There is no fee for a replacement
license due to name change.)

Licensure: DUPLICATE

A licensee may request a duplicate license if the
original license was lost, stolen, damaged, etc. A
request for a duplicate license must be in writing,
and include:

(1) Return of official license bearing former
name; and,

{2) Return of pocket license bearing former name;
and,

(3) Letter of explanation; and,

(4) A money order or check in the amount of the
duplicate license fee established by the Board in
COMAR 10.46.05.01.

(NOTE: Currently the fee is $50)

Frequently Asked Questions

Q1: What is the role of the occupational therapy
assistant in documenting the HCFA 700/701
Form and MDS process?

Al: The Maryland regulations do not identify
specific forms an occupational therapy assistant
may complete. However, the Maryland
regulations state that the occupational therapy
assistant and occupational therapist are jointly
responsible for written documentation on patient
status. The 700/701 forms and the MDS
represent two methods of written documentation
on patient status. In the new PPS climate, the
MDS form has become a reimbursement tool, and
secondly, an assessment tool.

Q2: Can an occupational therapy assistant
participate in the care plan process?

A2: The occupational therapist is responsible for
initiating the care plan and the evaluation process.
According to COMAR (10.46.01.04), an
occupational therapy assistant may not initiate a
treatment program until the patient has been
evaluated and treatment planned by the
occupational therapist. An occupational therapy
assistant may assist in the data gathering process
under the supervision of the occupational
therapist. An occupational therapy assistant may
participate in the care plan process by updating
and revising goals and documenting progress.

Q3: What documents need to be co-signed?

A3: The regulations do not stipulate the
frequency with which an occupational therapist
should co-sign an occupational therapy assistant’s
notes. Although the regulations do refer to the
co-signing of notes written by an occupational
therapy assistant as one example of
documentation which may be used to document
completion of the required supervision. The
required supervision is not less than 10 therapy
visits or 30 calendar days, whichever comes first.



