Frequently Asked Questions
1. Do I need to be licensed in the State of Maryland to work as a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant?
Yes. You must be licensed by the Maryland Board of Physical Therapy Examiners or hold a Maryland privilege issued by the PT Comapct Commission before working in Maryland.
2. How do I become licensed in Maryland?
3. If I am licensed in another state may I practice physical therapy in the State of Maryland until I receive my Maryland license?
4. How do I get a PT Compact Privilege for Maryland?
for information on the PT Compact Commisson.
6. What happens if I fail the national physical therapy exam?
You must repeat it. You may take the exam a total of three times within a year, a total of six times in all. The year starts with your first exam date.
7. If I take and fail the national physical therapy exam for a physical therapist can I take the national physical therapy exam for a physical therapist assistant?
No. You must take the national physical therapy exam for which you were educated. The State of Maryland does not allow a physical therapist applicant to sit for the physical therapist assistant exam.
8. Once I receive my physical therapist or physical therapist assistant license, is it subject to renewal, and if so, when?
Yes, your license is subject to renewal. Licenses are renewed on an odd-even basis. Even-numbered licenses renew in even-numbered years and odd-numbered licenses renew in odd-numbered years. To renew a license, you must complete the renewal application online, pay the renewal fee, and submit evidence of the required continuing education units/hours.
9. What are the requirements for a physical therapist and physical therapist assistant educated outside of the United States?
for foreign educated licensing requirements.
10. What shall I do if I believe someone is violating the Maryland Physical Therapy Practice Act?
Report it. It is your legal and ethical responsibility to report any suspected violation of the law to the Maryland Board of Physical Therapy Examiners. Violators may include unlicensed persons who aid and abet the illegal and unsafe practice of physical therapy as well as physical therapists or physical therapist assistants who are practicing outside the scope of the law. The Board is charged with investigating and acting upon complaints. Download, complete and submit the complaint form.
11. How do I change my name on my license?
Use the name change form, and mail, fax or email the Board a copy of your marriage license, divorce decree, or any other legal document bearing your name change. Your license will be updated with the name change requested with a hard copy of your license issued at the next renewal period.
If you require an updated hard copy of your license, make your request for a duplicate license in writing along with a $75 payment (check/money order) payable to Maryland Board of Physical Therapy Examiners.
12. How do I change my address on my license?
Using the change of address form
, mail, fax or email the address change requested. You may also update your address at the time of renewal. Your license will be updated with the address change requested. If you require an updated hard copy of your license, make your request for a duplicate license in writing along with a $75 payment (check/money order) payable to Maryland Board of Physical Therapy Examiners.
13. I’ve lost or misplaced my license. What should I do?
Send your written request for a duplicate license to the Board along with the required $75 payment (check/money order) made payable to he Maryland Board of Physical Therapy Examiners.
14. I am licensed in Maryland and seeking licensure in another state which requires verification from the Maryland Board of Physical THerapy Examiners. What do I do?
Complete the request form and follow the instructions.
Questions? Need more information? Contact us Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. ET. Call (410) 764-4718, fax (410) 358-1183. You can also contact our Licensing Manager directly at (410) 913-9926 or by e-mail at email@example.com