Record Keeping at a Glance

Ali Behnia, DMD
Online-Editor

As a healthcare provider, you are required to maintain adequate records for your patients. Below are
some of the more important aspects of the Dental Board’s record keeping regulations. Note that this
article is not intended to be exhaustive. You must comply with all of the record keeping requirements
found in the Code of Maryland Regulations, (COMAR) 10.44.30. A copy may be found in the center of the
Board’s website home page.

+ Dental records shall be created and maintained for each individual seeking or receiving dental
services, regardless of whether any treatment is rendered or any fee is charged.

e All non-electronic health records shall be in ink or typed, accurate, detailed, and legible.

¢ If an electronic health record is maintained, you should utilize “best practices” related to
validation, maintenance, security measures, and an audit trail.

» Except for notations of payment (or failure to do so), financial records should be accurate and
accessible, but not maintained in the clinical chart. Informed consent should always be obtained
and be included in the clinical chart. _

+ Except for a minor patient, health records (clinical charts, radiographs, models, etc.) shall be
maintained for 5 years after the record is made. For minors, records must be kept for either 5 years
or until the minor reaches 21 years of age, whichever period is longer.

« Lack of adequate record keeping is a sanctionable violation of the Maryland dental laws.

e If the Board issues a subpoena for dental records as part of an investigation, the records must be
provided to the Board in the allotted time. A brief extension may be granted upon request if good

cause is shown, '
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