Maryland’s Public Health Laboratory

Office of the Director:

Director: Robert A. Myers, Ph.D

Director's Office Webpage 

Office of  Laboratory Emergency Preparedness and Response        

Chief: Jim Svrjck


Scientific Service Divisions:     

Deputy Director: Prince Kassim, Ph.D

Virology and Immunology     

Division Chief: Maria Paz Carlos, Ph.D., DVM 

Newborn and Childhood Screening

Division Chief: Fizza Gulamali-Majid, Ph.D

Molecular Biology                ​

Division Chief: Robert A. Myers, Ph.D


Division Chief: Jafar Razeq, Ph.D

Environmental Chemistry

 Division Chief: Prince Kassim, Ph.D

Western Maryland Regional Lab

Chief: JoAnne Flinn

Eastern Shore Regional Lab

Laboratory Director: Robert Waltersdorff, Ph.D, D(ABMM) 

Follow Us:​



Administrative and Support Services

Deputy Director: Jennifer Newman Barnhart MPH

Drug Control

Acting Division Chief: Chandra Mouli

Quality Assurance, Safety and Training

Quality Assurance Officer: MarK McKinney

Safety and Security Officer: Rachel Vaden

Laboratory Support Services

Administrative Officer: Denise Shackleford

Office of Information Management

 Division Chief: Steven Montgomery

​ ​