• English

    Google Translate Disclaimer

    The Maryland Department of Information Technology (“DoIT”) offers translations of the content through Google Translate. Because Google Translate is an external website, DoIT does not control the quality or accuracy of translated content. All DoIT content is filtered through Google Translate which may result in unexpected and unpredictable degradation of portions of text, images and the general appearance on translated pages. Google Translate may maintain unique privacy and use policies. These policies are not controlled by DoIT and are not associated with DoIT’s privacy and use policies. After selecting a translation option, users will be notified that they are leaving DoIT’s website. Users should consult the original English content on DoIT’s website if there are any questions about the translated content.

    DoIT uses Google Translate to provide language translations of its content. Google Translate is a free, automated service that relies on data and technology to provide its translations. The Google Translate feature is provided for informational purposes only. Translations cannot be guaranteed as exact or without the inclusion of incorrect or inappropriate language. Google Translate is a third-party service and site users will be leaving DoIT to utilize translated content. As such, DoIT does not guarantee and does not accept responsibility for, the accuracy, reliability, or performance of this service nor the limitations provided by this service, such as the inability to translate specific files like PDFs and graphics (e.g. .jpgs, .gifs, etc.).

    DoIT provides Google Translate as an online tool for its users, but DoIT does not directly endorse the website or imply that it is the only solution available to users. All site visitors may choose to use alternate tools for their translation needs. Any individuals or parties that use DoIT content in translated form, whether by Google Translate or by any other translation services, do so at their own risk. DoIT is not liable for any loss or damages arising out of, or issues related to, the use of or reliance on translated content. DoIT assumes no liability for any site visitor’s activities in connection with use of the Google Translate functionality or content.

    The Google Translate service is a means by which DoIT offers translations of content and is meant solely for the convenience of non-English speaking users of the website. The translated content is provided directly and dynamically by Google; DoIT has no direct control over the translated content as it appears using this tool. Therefore, in all contexts, the English content, as directly provided by DoIT is to be held authoritative.

    Title V Maternal and Child Health
    Services (MCH) Block Grant


    The Title V Maternal and Child Health Services (MCH) Block Grant provides funds to states to improve the health of women and children, including those with special health care needs. The program is authorized under Title V of the 1935 Social Security Act and is administered by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau of the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
    At the state level in Maryland, the grant is administered by the Prevention and Health Promotion Administration (PHPA) of the Maryland Department of Health.  Within PHPA, the grant is jointly administered by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau and the Office for Genetics and People with Special Health Care Needs.
    For more information about Maryland's Title V initiatives, please visit the Federal Maternal and Child Health Bureau State Data System website where a state snapshot is available to download. 
    States are required to develop a five year state action plan that addresses the health needs among three population domains:
    1. Preventive and primary care services for all pregnant women, mothers, and infants up to age one;
    2. Preventive and primary care services for children; and
    3. Services for children with special health care needs that are family-centered and community-based.
    In addition, activities within these population domains must be provided among the three levels of the Maternal and Child Health Pyramid of Services:
    1. Direct services are preventive, primary, or specialty clinical services to pregnant women and children, including CYSHCN.  Block Grant funds are used to reimburse or fund providers for these services through a process similar to paying a medical billing claim or managed care costs that are not reimbursable by another funding source (i.e. Medicaid).  Examples include, but are not limited to preventive, primary, or specialty care visits, emergency department visits, prescription drugs, occupational and physical therapy, speech therapy, durable medical equipment and medical supplies, medical foods, dental care and vision care.
    2. Enabling services are non-clinical services that enable individuals to access health care and improve health outcomes.  Enabling services include, but are not limited to case management, care coordination, referrals, translation/interpretation, transportation, eligibility assistance, health education for individuals or families, environmental health risk reduction, health literacy and outreach. 
    3. Public health services and systems are activities and infrastructure to carry out the core public health functions of assessment, assurance and policy development.  Examples include the development of standards and guidelines, needs assessment, program planning, implementation and evaluation, policy development, quality assurance and improvement and population-based disease prevention and health promotion such as newborn screening, immunization, injury prevention, safe-sleep education and smoking cessation. 


    The Title V Block Grant Program requires that for every $4 of Title V federal funding, the state must match $3 in additional funding. This 'match' results in the availability of more than 8 million additional dollars for maternal and child health programs in Maryland at both the state and local levels. Title V requires that a minimum of 30% of federal Block Grant funds be used to support services for children with special health care needs (CSHCN), and that a minimum of 30% of federal funds be used to provide preventive and primary care services for children. States may spend no more than 10% of federal Title V funds on administrative costs.


    As required, the Maryland Maternal and Child Health Bureau reports annually to the federal Health Resources and Services Administration on programs and initiatives supported with Title V funds, progress made on the required national performance measures, and activities for the coming year.  Details related to Maryland’s most recent annual application can be found online at:
    The public comment period for the FY 2022 Title V Application is now open. Access the application here​. Access the public comment survey here


    The Maternal and Child Health Bureau conducts a statewide needs assessment every five years. The needs assessment provides direction and guidance on Title V activities for the next five years by identifying state maternal and child health priority issues and related national performance measures.  Maryland completed its most recent five year needs assessment in 2020.   The public comment period for the 2020 Needs Assessment runs from June 16-July 17, 2020.  You may access the comment page at 

     June, 2020