
In 1999, Indiana was the first state to 
require  coverage of autism treatment.  
Today, 32 states require it.!
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State	
   Year	
  

Enacted	
  
State	
  

Popula1on1	
  
Annual	
  Dollar	
  Cap	
   Age	
  

Cap	
  
State	
  
E’ees?	
  

Small	
  
Group?	
  

Indiana	
   2001	
   6,484,000	
   None	
   None	
   Yes	
   Yes	
  

South	
  Carolina	
  	
   2007	
   4,625,000	
   $50K	
   16	
   Yes	
   No	
  

Texas	
   2007	
   25,146,000	
   None	
   <10	
   No	
   No	
  

Arizona	
   2008	
   6,392,000	
   $50K:	
  0-­‐8,	
  $25K:	
  9-­‐16	
   16/17	
   Yes	
   No	
  

Louisiana	
   2008	
   4,533,000	
   $36K	
  ($144K	
  life,me)	
   <17	
   Yes	
   No	
  

Florida	
   2008	
   18,801,000	
   $36K	
  ($200K	
  life,me)	
   <18	
   Yes	
   No	
  

Pennsylvania	
   2008	
   12,702,000	
   $36K	
   <21	
   Yes	
   No	
  

Illinois	
   2008	
   12,831,000	
   $36K	
   <21	
   Yes	
   Yes	
  

New	
  Mexico	
   2009	
   2,059,000	
   $36K	
  ($200K	
  life,me)	
   19/22	
   No	
   Yes	
  

Montana	
   2009	
   989,000	
   $50K:	
  0-­‐8,	
  $20K:	
  9-­‐18	
   18	
   Yes	
   Yes	
  

Nevada	
   2009	
   2,701,000	
   $36K	
   18/22	
   Yes	
   Yes	
  

Colorado	
   2009	
   5,029,000	
   $34K:	
  0-­‐8,	
  $12K:	
  9-­‐19	
   <20	
   Yes	
   Yes	
  

Connec,cut	
   2009	
   3,574,000	
   $50K:	
  0-­‐8,	
  $35K:	
  9-­‐12;	
  $25K:	
  13-­‐14	
   <15	
   Yes	
   Yes	
  

Wisconsin	
   2009	
   5,687,000	
   $50K	
  for	
  4	
  yrs,	
  $25K	
  aYer	
   None	
   Yes	
   Yes	
  

New	
  Jersey	
   2009	
   8,792,000	
   $36K	
   21	
   Yes	
   Yes	
  

1 2010 Census available at: http://2010.census.gov/news/pdf/apport2010_table2.pdf  
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Maine	
   2010	
   1,328,000	
   $36K	
   <6	
   Yes	
   Yes	
  

Kentucky	
   2010	
   4,339,000	
   $50K:	
  0-­‐7,	
  $1000/mo:	
  7-­‐21	
   1-­‐21	
   Yes	
   Yes	
  

Kansas	
   2010	
   2,853,000	
   $36K:	
  0-­‐7,	
  $27K:	
  8-­‐19	
   <19	
   Yes	
  only	
   No	
  

Iowa	
   2010	
   3,046,000	
   $36K	
   <21	
   Yes	
  only	
   No	
  

Vermont	
   2010	
   626,000	
   None	
   1	
  ½	
  -­‐	
  6	
   Yes	
   Yes	
  

Missouri	
   2010	
   5,989,000	
   $40K	
   19	
   Yes	
   Yes	
  

New	
  Hampshire	
   2010	
   1,316,000	
   $36K:	
  0-­‐12,	
  $27K:	
  13-­‐21	
   21	
   Yes	
   Yes	
  

Massachuse`s	
   2010	
   6,548,000	
   None	
   None	
   Yes	
   Yes	
  

Arkansas	
   2011	
   2,916,000	
   $50K	
   <18	
   Yes	
   No	
  

West	
  Virginia	
   2011	
   1,853,000	
   $30K	
  for	
  3	
  yrs;	
  $24K	
  up	
  to	
  18	
   3-­‐18	
   Yes	
   Yes	
  

Virginia	
   2011	
   8,001,000	
   $35K	
   2-­‐6	
   Yes	
   No	
  

Rhode	
  Island	
   2011	
   1,053,000	
   $32K	
   15	
   Yes	
   No	
  

New	
  York	
   20112	
   19,378,000	
   $45K	
   None	
   Yes	
   Yes	
  

California	
   20112	
   37,254,000	
   None	
   None	
   No	
   No	
  

Michigan	
   2012	
   98,836,640	
   $50K	
  if	
  <7,	
  $40K	
  if	
  7-­‐12,	
  $30K	
  if	
  13-­‐18	
   Yes	
   Pending	
   Yes	
  

Alaska	
   2012	
   722,718	
   None	
   21	
   Yes	
   >20	
  

Delaware	
   2012	
   907,135	
   $36,000	
   21	
   Yes	
   Yes	
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1 2010 Census available at: http://2010.census.gov/news/pdf/apport2010_table2.pdf  
2 Bills passed state legislature, measures pending signature by Governor. 


