Dear Hearing Aid Dispenser Limited Licensee:

During the 2007 legislative session, the Maryland General Assembly passed a revision of the practice statute for the Board of Examiners for Audiologists, Hearing Aid Dispensers and Speech-Language Pathologists (the "Board"). Some of these changes have to do with the requirements for licensure for hearing aid dispensers. As a result of the new law, please be advised that anyone who does not receive a full hearing aid dispenser license prior to January 1, 2008 will have to meet the new requirements for licensure which are listed below.

Maryland Health Occ. Code Ann. § 2-302.1. – Hearing Aid Dispensers

- (a) On or after January 1, 2008, to qualify for an initial license to practice hearing aid dispensing, an applicant shall be an individual who meets the requirements of this section.
 - (b) The applicant shall be of good moral character.
 - (c) The applicant shall:
 - (1) Be a graduate of an accredited 2-year postsecondary program with a diploma or degree; and
 - (2) Prior to taking the state licensing examination, provide proof of successful completion of the International Hearing Society curriculum entitled "Distance Learning for Professionals in Hearing Health Sciences" or an equivalent course approved by the board.

Because a limited licensee must complete at least 6 months of supervised training prior to taking the state licensing examination, anyone applying for a limited license to dispense hearing aids after June 30, 2007 will need to meet the requirements of the new statute for full licensure.

If you have any questions regarding licensure, please contact Ms. Gwendolyn Wheatley, Board Administrator, at 410-764-4723.

Sincerely,

Richard Robinson Board Chair