Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners Spring Grove Hospital Center • Benjamin Rush Building 55 Wade Avenue/Tulip Drive Catonsville, Maryland 21228 (410) 402-8511

APPLICATION FOR VOLUNTEER DENTAL LICENSURE

Notice For Mailing List:

The information collected on this application form is collected for the purposes of the Board's functions under the Annotated Code of MD, Health Occupations Article, Title 4. Failure to provide the information may result in denial of your application. You have a right to inspect, amend, and request correction of this information. The Board may permit inspection of this information or make it available to others only as permitted by federal and State law. Under the Maryland Public Information Act, the Annotated Code of MD, State Gov't Article, §10-617, the Board may provide, for a fee, a list of licensees' names and addresses to professional associations and other entities. You may request in writing that your name be omitted from such lists.

SECTION I – GENERAL INFORMATION			
Name (Last, First, Mid	Initial):		
Address of Re	d:		
(Street Addre			
City, State, Zi			
A. Social Secu (There is a state	y Number:		
B. Date of Bir			
C. Cell Phone	ımber:		
D. Home Pho	Number:		
E. Work Pho	Number:		
F. E-Mail Add	s:		
G. Gender Ide	ification: Female Male		
H. Race/Ethn	Identification — Please check <u>all</u> that apply		
	anic or Latino origin? Yes		
Select one or m	of the following racial categories:		
	1. American Indian or Alaska Native (A person having origins in any of the original peoples of North or South America, including Central America, and who maintains tribal affiliations or community attachment.)		
subcor	2. Asian (A person having origin in any of the original peoples of the Far East, Southeast Asia, or the Indian subcontinent including, for example, Cambodia, China, India, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Pakistan, the Philippine Islands, Thailand, and Vietnam.)		
3. Black of	frican American (A person having origins in any of the black racial groups of Africa.)		
4. Native	waiian or other Pacific Islander (A person having origins in the original peoples of Hawaii, Guam, Samoa, or other ands.)		

5.	White ((A person having origins in any of the original peoples of	Europe, the Middle East, or North Africa.)
		n other states:	
List	other sta	ates or jurisdiction in which you hold or have held a dent	
	S	State Lic	ense Number
		- EDUCATION	
A. Sch	ool of G	Graduation (Name, City, State, Country):	
B. Dat	te of Gra	aduation: Degree	Earned:
<u>SECTI</u>	ON III	<u> </u>	
All can	didates	answer A, B, C, and D. Path 1 candidates answer	A, B, C, D, E, and F.
A. Hav	e you pa	assed the National Board Examination(s)? Yes	□ No
B. Dat	e of exan	mination: Location of examination: _	
C. Hav	e you pa	assed the American Board of Dental Examiners (AD	EX) or the North East Regional Board (NERB)
_		ills Examination (DSE)? ☐ Yes ☐ No	
D. Dat	e of exan	mination: Location of examination: _	
	-	pplicants, Regional Board examination taken:	
F. Date	e of exam	mination: Location of examination: _	
SECT1	ON IV -	- EXPERIENCE	
		ndidates only: I have actively practiced dentistry for at least 850 application for licensure. (See Guidelines for r) hours during the 5-year period preceding this requirement to submit a notarized affidavit.)
SECT1	<u>ON V –</u>	- CONTINUING EDUCATION	
☐ Yes	s 🗌 No	I have completed 30 hours of continuing educati Board-approved course on abuse and neglect as course on proper prescribing and disposal of pres preceding application and possess current CPR co	it relates to Maryland law, 2-hour Board-approved scription drugs (Pharmacology) in the 2 years
SECTI	ON VI -	- CHARACTER AND FITNESS	
		"YES" to any question(s) in Section VI — Characte f each occasion. Each attachment must have your	r and Fitness, attach a separate page with a complete name in print, signature, and date.
YES	NO		
		application for licensure, reinstatement, or renewal, or to reprimand, suspension, revocation, a fine, or non-ju	ction, including Maryland, or any federal entity denied your taken any action against your license, including but not limited idicial punishment? If you are under a Board Order or were not you must enclose a certified legible copy of the entire Order
		b. Have any investigations or charges been brought agincluding Maryland, by any licensing or disciplinary box	painst you or are any currently pending in any jurisdiction, and or any federal or state entity?
		c. Has your application for a dentist license in any juris	sdiction been withdrawn for any reason?

SECTION VI - CHARACTER AND FITNESS (CONT'D)

YES	NO	
		d. Has an investigation or charge been brought against you by a hospital, related institution, or alternative health care system?
		e. Have you had any denial of application for privileges, been denied for failure to renew your privileges, or limitation, restriction, suspension, revocation or loss of privileges in a hospital, related health care facility, or alternative health care system?
		f. Have you pled guilty, nolo contendere, had a conviction or receipt of probation before judgment or other diversionary disposition of any criminal act, excluding minor traffic violations?
		g. Have you pled guilty, nolo contendere, had a conviction, or receipt of probation before judgment or other diversionary disposition for an alcohol or controlled dangerous substance offense, including but not limited to driving while under the influence of alcohol or controlled dangerous substances?
		h. Do you have criminal charges pending against you in any court of law, excluding minor traffic violations?
		i. Do you have a physical condition that impairs your ability to practice dentistry?
		j. Do you have a mental health condition that impairs your ability to practice dentistry?
		k. Have the use of drugs and/or alcohol resulted in an impairment of your ability to practice dentistry?
		I. Have you illegally used drugs?
		m. Have you surrendered or allowed your license to lapse while under investigation by any licensing or disciplinary board of any jurisdiction, including Maryland, or any federal or state entity?
		n. Have you been named as a defendant in a filing or settlement of a malpractice action?
		o. Has your employment been affected or have you voluntarily resigned from any employment, in any setting, or have you been terminated or suspended, from any hospital, related health care or other institution, or any federal entity for any disciplinary reasons or while under investigation for disciplinary reasons?

The Well Being Committee assists dentists and their families who are experiencing personal problems. The Committee has helped many dentists over the years with problems such as stress, drug dependence, alcoholism, depression, medical problems, infectious diseases, neurological disorders and other illnesses that cause impairment. For more information, dentists may visit www.dentistwellbeing.com.

Incomplete applications will be returned and will be subject to a \$50.00 application reprocessing fee.

Release and Certification:

I hereby affirm that I have read and followed the above instructions. I hereby certify that all information in this application is accurate and correct.

I agree that the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners (the Board) may request any information necessary to process my application for dental licensure in Maryland from any person or agency, including but not limited to postgraduate program directors, individual dentists, government agencies, the National Practitioner Data Bank, the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank, hospitals and other licensing bodies, and I agree that any person or agency may release to the Board the information requested. I also agree to sign any subsequent release for information that may be requested by the Board.

I agree that I will fully cooperate with any request for information or with any investigation related to my dental practice as a licensed dentist in the State of Maryland, including the subpoena of documents or records or the inspection of my dental practice.

During the period in which my application is being processed, I shall inform the Board within 30 days of any change to any answer I originally gave in this application, any arrest or conviction, any change of address or any action that occurs based on accusations that would be grounds for disciplinary action under the Annotated Code of Maryland, Health Occupations §4-315.

Applicant Signature	Dat	te
NOTARY SECTION		
State of	,,,,	, Then personally appeared the above named truth of the foregoing statements in my presence.
Notary Public:	Му	Commission Expires:

Revised 11-06-19

MARYLAND STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

Application for Volunteer Dental Licensure

Checklist

Please review prior to sending your application package to the Board.

Incomplete applications will be returned and will by subject to a \$50.00 application reprocessing fee.

ALL CANDIDATES

1. Is your application completed front and back?		Is your application completed front and back?
		☐ Did you sign and have the application notarized?
	2.	Did you enclose only one photo that is between 2x2-inches and 3x3-inches with the required notarized Affidavit stating that "the photograph is a true photograph of me"? The photo must meet the following guidelines: taken within the last 2 years to reflect your current appearance; front view of full face from top of hair to shoulders; a natural expression; no hat or head covering that obscures the hair or hairline, unless worn daily for religious purposes; no sunglasses, headphones, wireless hands-free devices or similar items; no other individuals or distractions in the photo. Photos copied or digitally scanned from driver's licenses or other official documents are not acceptable. In addition, low quality vending machine or mobile phone photos are not acceptable. "Passport" photos are acceptable. Unacceptable photos will be returned and may delay the issuance of your license.
	3.	Did you request that an original National Board score report be forwarded to the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners? ("the Board" will obtain scores)
	4.	Did you enclose certified proof of dental education, such as a copy of a diploma, transcript or a letter from the school? <i>Please note that the original embossed school seal must be affixed to copies of Diploma or transcript submitted to the Board.</i>
	5.	Did you enclose a certified letter with the state seal affixed from each state in which you hold or have ever held a license, verifying that the license is or was in good standing and that no disciplinary action has ever been taken against the license?
	6.	Did you enclose documentation of completion of 30 hours of clinical continuing education, including 2 hours of infection control, a 2-hour Board-approved course on abuse and neglect as it relates to Maryland law, 2-hour Board-approved course on proper prescribing and disposal of prescription drugs (Pharmacology) in the 2 years preceding application and proof of current cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) certification?
	7.	Did you enclose the completed Affidavit of Volunteer Dentistry?
	8.	Did you enclose the completed Affidavit of Malpractice Insurance?
	9.	Did you enclose documentation of legal name change (i.e., marriage certificate or court documents) if the documents sent with the application are in another name?
	10.	Did you enclose an examination score report from the American Board of Dental Examiners (ADEX) or the North East Regional Board (NERB) certifying that you have passed the Diagnostic Skills Examination (DSE)? ("the Board" will obtain scores)

11.	Did you enclose the Jurisprudence Examination and the notarized Affidavit?	
12.	12. A copy of the Applicant's National Practitioner Data Bank File? ("the Board" will obtain report)	
	PATH 1 CANDIDATES:	
	TATIT CAMBRIES.	
1.	Did you enclose certified examination scores from the Central Regional Testing Service (CRDTS), the American Board of Dental Examiners (ADEX), the North East Regional Board (NERB), the Southern Regional Testing Agency, Inc. (SRTA), or the Western Regional Examining Board, Inc. (WREB)?	
	PATH 2 CANDIDATES:	
1.	Did you enclose a notarized affidavit attesting to 850 or more hours of active practice during the 5 years preceding application?	

MARYLAND STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS GUIDELINES FOR A VOLUNTEER DENTIST LICENSE

The Board <u>may not</u> process a licensure application until each provision or requirement is met and each document is received. Please ensure that your application is complete before it is submitted.

The following criteria must be met by all candidates for a volunteer dentist license:

- a. Be of good moral character; and
- b. Be at least 18 years old; and
- c. Hold a Degree of Doctor of Dental Surgery, Doctor of Dental Medicine, or the equivalent from a college or university that is authorized by any state of the United States or any province of Canada to grant a degree and is recognized by the Board as requiring adequate preprofessional training and as maintaining an acceptable course of dental instruction; and
- d. Holds an active license to practice dentistry in another state or in the District of Columbia; and
- e. Pass the National Board Examination(s); and
- f. Pass the American Board of Dental Examiners (ADEX) or the North East Regional Board (NERB) Diagnostic Skills Examination (DSE); and
- g. Pass the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners Jurisprudence Examination on the dental laws and regulations in Maryland; and
- h. Have completed 30 hours of clinical continuing education, including 2 hours of infection control, a 2-hour Board-approved course on abuse and neglect as it relates to Maryland law, a 2-hour Board-approved course on proper prescribing and disposal of prescription drugs (Pharmacology), and proof of current cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) certification from one of the following programs: (1) the American Heart Association's Basic Life Support for Healthcare Providers; or (2) the American Red Cross's Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation for Professional Rescuers; or (3) the American Health and Safety Institute; and
- i. Sign a written statement agreeing to donate at least 100 hours of dental services without compensation in a dental office, dental clinic, ambulatory care facility or hospital providing medical care to the poor, elderly, or handicapped that is operated by the State or a local government, or by a bona fide charitable organization; and
- j. Is covered by malpractice insurance.

In addition to the above criteria, applicants must meet the criteria in either path 1 or the criteria in path 2:

<u>Path 1</u>: You are a Path 1 candidate if you <u>have not</u> actively engaged in practicing dentistry for at least 850 hours during the 5 years preceding application.

a. Pass an examination given by the Central Regional Dental Testing Service (CRDTS), the American Board of Dental Examiners (ADEX), the North East Regional Board (NERB), the Southern Regional Testing Agency, Inc. (SRTA), or the Western Regional Examining Board, Inc. (WREB). A passing grade means at least a score of 75% in each discipline, clinical skill, procedure or knowledge area that is tested by ADEX/NERB examination.

<u>Path 2:</u> You are a Path 2 candidate if you <u>have</u> actively engaged in practicing dentistry for at least 850 hours in the 5 years preceding application.

a. Have actively engaged in practicing dentistry for at least 850 hours during the 5 years preceding application for licensure.

To apply for licensure, submit the Application for a Volunteer Dentist License and enclose the following with your application: Section I

All candidates must submit the following:

- A photograph that meets the requirements contained in the Checklist with the following notarized statement: "The picture is a true photograph of me."
- Original National Board score report.
- Certified proof of your dental education. Acceptable proof includes a certified copy of a diploma, official transcripts, or a letter from the school. Please do not submit your original copy. The document must contain the raised, embossed school seal certifying its authenticity. However, letters from educational institutions on original letterhead, bearing an original signature do not require a raised, embossed school seal.
- A certified letter with the state seal affixed from each state in which you hold or have ever held a license, verifying that the license is or was in good standing and that no disciplinary action has ever been taken against the license.
- > Documentation of completion of 30 hours of clinical continuing education, including 2 hours of infection control, a 2-hour Board-approved course on abuse and neglect as it relates to Maryland law, 2-hour Board-approved course on proper prescribing and disposal of prescription drugs (Pharmacology), and possess current cardiopulmonary resuscitation certification (CPR) from one of the following programs: (1) the American Heart Association's Basic Life Support for Healthcare Providers; or (2) the American Red Cross's Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation for Professional Rescuers; or (3) the American Health and Safety Institute.
- A notarized Affidavit of Volunteer Dentistry stating that the dentist will donate at least 100 hours of dental services without compensation.
- > An Affidavit of Malpractice Insurance.
- > If applicable, proof of legal name change, such as a marriage certificate or court documents.
- Certified American Board of Dental Examiners (ADEX) or the North East Regional Board (NERB) examination report for the Diagnostic Skills Examination (DSE). Applicants may make application for this examination by contacting the Commission on Dental Competency Assessments (CDCA) at (301) 563-3300.
- Maryland Jurisprudence Examination. All applicants for licensure in Maryland must take and pass the Jurisprudence Examination on the Dental Laws and Regulations of this State with at least a score of 75%. It is an open book examination and may be found on the Board's website at www.health.maryland.gov/dental/. The examination cannot be taken on-line. You must download the examination, print a hard copy, and complete the examination. Send the completed examination, notarized Affidavit Form, and \$50.00 examination fee to the Board office. Applicants may also take the examination at the Board office Monday through Friday, except holidays, between the hours of 9:00 AM and 4:00 PM. You will be scheduled for the examination after your completed application is reviewed. Please call to schedule the examination if you wish to take the examination at the Board office.

In addition to the requirements in Section I, Path 1 candidates must submit:

Certified examination scores from one of the following Regional Boards: the Central Regional Testing Service (CRDTS), the American Board of Dental Examiners (ADEX), the North East Regional Board (NERB), the Southern Regional Testing Agency, Inc. (SRTA), or the Western Regional Examining Board, Inc. (WREB).

In addition to the requirements in Section I, Path 2 candidates must submit:

A notarized affidavit attesting to the applicant's active practice history of at least 850 hours during the 5 years preceding application in Maryland for licensure. The affidavit should include the following: **(please print or type)** the name of your employer, name of your supervising dentist, street address, telephone number, dates of employment, and the number of hours worked for each employer. If you owned your own dental practice please indicate when appropriate.

Incomplete applications will be returned and will be subject to a \$50.00 application reprocessing fee.

MAIL APPLICATION AND SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS TO:

Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners The Benjamin Rush Building Spring Grove Hospital Center 55 Wade Avenue/Tulip Drive Catonsville, MD 21228 ATTN: Licensing Unit

Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners Application for Volunteer Dental or Dental Hygiene Licensure

AffidavitVolunteer Dentistry or Dental Hygiene

I agree to donate, before June 30 of the second year following the effective date of this license, at least one hundred (100) hours of dental or dental hygiene services without compensation only in a dental office, dental clinic, ambulatory care facility, or hospital; and only for an entity providing medical care to the poor, elderly, or handicapped that is operated by the State or local government, or a bona fide charitable organization.

Signature of Applicant	Date	
NOTARY		
STATE OF	, CITY/COUNTY OF	
I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT on this	day of	, 20, before me, a Notary Public
of the State of Maryland and the City/County af	oresaid, personally appeare	ed before me
	and made oath in due form	of law that signing the foregoing Affidavit of
Volunteer Dentistry or Dental Hygiene was HIS	HER voluntary act and dee	d.
AS WITNESS my hand and Notarial Sea	ıl.	
Notary Public		
My Commission Expires:		

SEAL

Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners Application for Volunteer Dental or Dental Hygiene License

Affidavit Malpractice Insurance

A. Name of Malpractice Insurer:	
B. Name, Address, and telephone number	r of Malpractice Insurance Agent:
C. If You Do Not Have an Agent, Provide	the Address and Telephone
Number of the Malpractice Insurer:	
D. Policy Number	
E. Amount of Coverage F. Expiration Date of Policy	
	swer to these questions is true and correct to the best of my knowledge ges to the information provided above. I understand that I must maintain re as a retired volunteer dentist.
Signature of Applicant	
NOTARY	
STATE OF	_, CITY/COUNTY OF
I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT on this of Maryland and the City/County aforesaid, personall oath in due form of law that signing the foregoing Af	day of, 20, before me, a Notary Public of the State lly appeared before me, and made ffidavit of Malpractice Insurance was HIS\HER voluntary act and deed.
AS WITNESS my hand and Notarial Seal.	
Notary Public	My Commission Expires: