APPLICATION FOR DENTAL HYGIENE LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION

MARYLAND STATE BOARD OF DENTISTRY

A Division of the Maryland Department of Health 55 Wade Avenue, Benjamin Rush Bldg. Catonsville, Maryland 21228 www.health.maryland.gov/dental

Please read the instructions carefully and be familiar with the laws and regulations governing the practice of dental hygiene in the State of Maryland. Visit the following website for more information: www.health.maryland.gov/dental.

IMPORTANT

The Board cannot process incomplete applications. If any item is missing, incomplete or incorrect, your application cannot be reviewed.

Please review this application before you submit it to ensure that all information and documentation is complete and correct.

Incomplete applications are maintained in the Board office for a period of thirty (30) days. After such time the application is rendered void, returned and will be subject to a \$50.00 application reprocessing fee. The applicant must re-apply and pay all required fees.

Application Checklist

The following checklist is an important part of your application. Please use this checklist to ensure that you submit a COMPLETE application.

The total application fee of **\$325.00** (Jurisprudence Exam fee included) payable by check or money order to the Maryland Board of Dental Examiners must be included with your application.

- 1. **NOTARIZED APPLICATION:** Completed application form accompanied by the appropriate fee (\$275.00). Your application will not be processed unless the fee and all supporting documents are received. The licensure process could take up to a minimum of **4 weeks** after submission of a completed application. Plan your application time accordingly.
- 2. **NOTARIZED PHOTOGRAPH:** The photo must meet the following guidelines: taken within the last 2 years to reflect your current appearance; front view of full face from top of hair to shoulders; a natural expression; no hat or head covering that obscures the hair or hairline, unless worn daily for religious purposes; no sunglasses, headphones, wireless hands-free devices or similar items; no other individuals or distractions in the photo. Photos copied or digitally scanned from driver's licenses or other official documents are not acceptable. In addition, low quality vending machine or mobile phone photos are not acceptable. "Passport" photos are acceptable. Unacceptable photos will be returned and may delay the issuance of your license.
- 3. **PROOF OF EMPLOYMENT:** Identify any employers for the 3 year period immediately preceding the date of your application beginning with the most recent employer. This document should include the following: name of employer, name of supervising dentist, street address, dates of employment, and the number of hours worked for each employer. **If you are a recent graduate** (within the past six months) and not licensed in any other state, you are exempt from this requirement.
- 4. LICENSE VERIFICATION: Official licensure verification for every dental hygiene license ever held. Each verification must indicate the date of licensure, the licensure status (active, inactive, non-renewed, probation, etc.), any disciplinary actions taken against you by the licensing board and the result of these actions. The applicant must provide a certified copy of the formal complaint/pleading, outcomes, and a personal written explanation for each instance of discipline. You should call each state board about fees for these services. The verification must be submitted with your application IN THE ORIGINAL SEALED ENVELOPE FROM THE STATE BOARD, and must be dated within 6 months of Board receipt of your complete application packet. If you are a recent graduate (within the past six months) and not licensed in any other state, you are exempt from this requirement.
- 5. **DEGREE TRANSCRIPT OR LETTER:** An official transcript or letter which documents graduation with an A.S., A.S.S., B.A., B.S., or CERT. degree from a dental hygiene school which is accredited by the American Dental Association (ADA) Commission on Dental Education. The transcript/letter must be IN THE ORIGINAL SEALED ENVELOPE FROM THE COLLEGE. Maryland laws §§ 44.22.10 require graduation from an ADA-accredited school.

- 6. NATIONAL BOARD SCORES: National Board Dental Hygiene Examination Scores (NBDHE) from the ADA Joint Commission on National Dental Examinations. The ADA will no longer send results via mail. You may access your national board results online by going to http://www.ada.org/~/medial/JCNDE/pdfs/nb_online_results.pdf?la=en. Download your results and submit with your application or request the score to be released to the Maryland Board of Dental Examiners. Board will obtain the scores after you have made the request. If you have any issues accessing this information, please contact the ADA at 800-232-1694 or nbexams@ada.org.
- CLINICAL LICENSURE (ADHLEX/NERB) EXAMINATION REPORT: Proof of having successfully passed both the clinical and computer simulated clinical exam through the Commissions on Dental Competency Assessments (CDCA) with a score of 75 or higher. The testing agency currently approved by the board is the American Dental Hygiene Exam (ADHEX) or North East Regional Boards (NERB) – www.adexexams.org.
- 8. **JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION:** Successful completion of the Jurisprudence Examination with a score of 75 or higher. The Jurisprudence Examination will follow the application and may be taken as an open book exam. The examination and "laws and regulation" governing the practice of dental hygiene in Maryland will also follow this application. The fee for the Jurisprudence Exam is \$50 which is included in the \$325 initial fee.
- 9. **COPY OF COURT DOCUMENT OR AFFIDAVIT** explaining any discrepancies of the applicant's name if documents submitted display different name(s). [i.e., marriage certificate, divorce decree, legal name change]
- 10. **EXPEDITED APPLICATION REVIEW:** Military spouses, service members and transitioning service members qualify for expedited application review.
- 11. **RELOCATION:** If you relocate during the time that your application is being processed, you must notify the Board of your new address in writing by fax 410-402-8505 or mail. This will enable you to receive Board correspondence. Should you relocate after receiving your license, you must notify the board within 60 days. A fine of \$10 will be assessed after 60 days.

Spring Grove Hospital Center • Benjamin Rush Building • 55 Wade Avenue • Catonsville, Maryland 21228 • (410) 402-8510

APPLICATION FOR DENTAL HYGIENE LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION

Notice For Mailing List:

The information collected on this application form is collected for the purposes of the Board's functions under the Annotated Code of MD, Health Occupations Article, Title 4. Failure to provide the information may result in denial of your application. You have a right to inspect, amend, and request correction of this information. The Board may permit inspection of this information or make it available to others only as permitted by federal and State law. Under the Maryland Public Information Act, Annotated Code of Maryland, General Provisions Article, §4-333, the Board may provide, for a fee, a list of licensees' names and addresses to professional associations and other entities. You may request in writing that your name be omitted from such lists.

Information for Veterans, Service Members, and Military Spouses

Please note the following:

"Veteran" is a former service member who was discharged from active duty under circumstances other than dishonorable within 1 (one) year before the date on which this application has been submitted. "Veteran" does not include an individual who has completed active duty and has been discharged for more than 1 year before the application for a license, certificate, or permit is submitted.

"Service member" is an individual who is an active duty member of the armed forces of the United States, a reserve component of the armed forces of the United States, or the National Guard of any state.

"Military Spouse" is the spouse of a service member or veteran and includes the surviving spouse of a veteran, or a service member who died within 1 (one) year before the date on which the application for licensure is submitted to the Board.

Veterans, service members and military spouses are assigned an advisor to assist in the application process. In addition, the Board will expedite the processing of completed applications for veterans, service members, and military spouses. If you do not meet the education or training or experience requirements for licensure, your advisor will assist you in identifying programs that offer relevant education or training, or ways to obtain the necessary experience.

Your advisor is Debbie Wurster. Ms. Wurster may be reached at 410-402-8536. In Ms. Wurster's absence you may contact Ms. Debbie Welch at 410-402-8511.

weich at 410-402-8511.							
Are you a: Veteran: Yes No Service Member: Yes No Military Spouse: Yes No							
SECTION I – GENERAL IN	IFORMATION						
Name (Last, First, Middle Initial):							
Address of Record: (Street Address)							
City, State, Zip:							
A. Social Security Number: (There is a statutory requirement	A. Social Security Number:						
B. Date of Birth:							
C. Home Phone Number:							
D. Cell Phone Number:							
E. Work Phone Number:							

F.	E-Mail Address:				
G.	Gender Identification:	Female		Male	
Н.	Race/Ethnic Identification	- Please check	<u>all</u> that a	pply	
	Are you of Hispanic or Latino of (A person of Cuban, Mexican,		No th or Cent] ral American, or other Spanis	sh culture or origin, regardless of race.)
Se	lect one or more of the followin	g racial categories	:		
1.			_	origins in any of the original p s or community attachment.)	peoples of North or South America, including
2.		-			neast Asia, or the Indian subcontinent , the Philippine Islands, Thailand, and
3.	Black or African American	າ (A person having	ı origins ir	n any of the black racial grou	ps of Africa.)
4.	Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islands.)	Pacific Islander (A	\ person h	naving origins in the original p	peoples of Hawaii, Guam, Samoa, or other
5.	White (A person having of	origins in any of th	e original	peoples of Europe, the Middl	le East, or North Africa.)
I. Lis	Licensure in other states: tother states or jurisdictions in	which you hold or	have held	d a dental hygiene license.	
S	tate	Licens	e Numbe	er	Expiration Date
	SECTION II - EDUCATION A. School of Graduation (Name, City, State, Country):				
В.	Date of Graduation:			Degree Earned:	
<u>SE</u>	ECTION III – EXAMINATI	<u>ONS</u>			
A.	Have you passed the National	Board Examination	n(s)?	Yes No	
В.	Date of examination:	Locatic	n of exam	nination:	
C.	Have you passed all sections of	of the American Bo	ard of De	ntal Examiners (ADEX/NERB)	examination? Yes No
D.	Date of examination:	Locatio	n of exam	nination:	

If you have passed either the North East Regional Board (NERB) or the American Dental Licensing Examination (ADHEX) more than 3 years prior to the date of this application, please attach a detailed work history with the application, including the full name, address, telephone number and dates of employment for each place employed.

SECTION IV - CHARACTER AND FITNESS

If you answer "YES" to any question(s) in Section IV – Character and Fitness, attach a separate page with a complete explanation of each occasion. Each attachment must have your name in print, signature, and date.

YES	NO	
		a. Has any licensing or disciplinary board of any jurisdiction, including Maryland, or any federal entity denied your application for licensure, reinstatement, or renewal, or taken any action against your license, including but not limited to reprimand, suspension, revocation, a fine, or non-judicial punishment? If you are under a Board Order or were ever under a Board Order in a state other than Maryland you must enclose a certified legible copy of the entire Order with this application.
		b. Have any investigations or charges been brought against you or are any currently pending in any jurisdiction, including Maryland, by any licensing or disciplinary board or any federal or state entity?
		c. Has your application for a dental hygiene license in any jurisdiction been withdrawn for any reason?
		d. Has an investigation or charge been brought against you by a hospital, related institution, or alternative health care system?
		e. Have you had any denial of application for privileges, been denied for failure to renew your privileges, or limitation, restriction, suspension, revocation or loss of privileges in a hospital, related health care facility, or alternative health care system?
		f. Have you pled guilty, nolo contendere, had a conviction or receipt of probation before judgment or other diversionary disposition of any criminal act, excluding minor traffic violations?
		g. Have you pled guilty, nolo contendere, had a conviction, or receipt of probation before judgment or other diversionary disposition for an alcohol or controlled dangerous substance offense, including but not limited to driving while under the influence of alcohol or controlled dangerous substances?
		h. Do you have criminal charges pending against you in any court of law, excluding minor traffic violations?
		i. Do you have a physical condition that impairs your ability to practice dental hygiene?
		j. Do you have a mental health condition that impairs your ability to practice dental hygiene?
		k. Have the use of drugs and/or alcohol resulted in an impairment of your ability to practice dental hygiene?
		I. Have you illegally used drugs?
		m. Have you surrendered or allowed your license to lapse while under investigation by any licensing or disciplinary board of any jurisdiction, including Maryland, or any federal or state entity?
		n. Have you been named as a defendant in a filing or settlement of a malpractice action?
		o. Has your employment been affected or have you voluntarily resigned from any employment, in any setting, or have you been terminated or suspended, from any hospital, related health care or other institution, or any federal entity for any disciplinary reasons or while under investigation for disciplinary reasons?

The Well Being Committee assists dental hygienists and their families who are experiencing personal problems. The Committee has helped numerous dental hygienists over the years with problems such as stress, drug dependence, alcoholism, depression, medical problems, infectious diseases, neurological disorders and other illnesses that cause impairment. For more information please call 800-974-0068 or visit the website at www.mdhawell-being.org.

Incomplete applications will be returned and will be subject to a \$50.00 application reprocessing fee.

Release and Certification:

SEAL

I hereby affirm that I have read and followed the above instructions. I hereby certify that all information in this application is accurate and correct.

I agree that the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners (the Board) may request any information necessary to process my application for dental hygiene licensure in Maryland from any person or agency, including but not limited to postgraduate program directors, individual dentists, government agencies, the National Practitioner Data Bank, the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank, hospitals and other licensing bodies, and I agree that any person or agency may release to the Board the information requested. I also agree to sign any subsequent release for information that may be requested by the Board.

I agree that I will fully cooperate with any request for information or with any investigation related to my dental hygiene practice as a licensed dental hygienist in the State of Maryland, including the subpoena of documents or records or the inspection of my dental practice.

During the period in which my application is being processed, I shall inform the Board within 30 days of any change to any answer I originally gave in this application, any arrest or conviction, any change of address or any action that occurs based on accusations that would be grounds for disciplinary action under the Annotated Code of Maryland, Health Occupations Article, §4-315.

Applicant Signature		Date	
NOTARY SECTION			
State of	, County of _		, Then personally appeared the above
named		_, and signed and sworn to	the truth of the foregoing statements in
my presence.			
Notary Public: My Commission Expires:			_

Application for Dental Hygiene Licensure by Examination

Checklist

Please review prior to sending your application package to the Board.

Incomplete applications will be returned and will be subject to a \$50.00 application reprocessing fee.

1.	Is your application completed front and back? Did you sign and have the application notarized?
2.	Did you enclose the \$275 non-refundable fee in a check or money order made payable to the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners?
3.	Did you enclose one photo that is between 2x2-inches and 3x3-inches with the required notarized affidavit? The photo must meet the following guidelines: taken within the last 2 years to reflect your current appearance; front view of full face from top of hair to shoulders; a natural expression; no hat or head covering that obscures the hair or hairline, unless worn daily for religious purposes; no sunglasses, headphones, wireless hands-free devices or similar items; no other individuals or distractions in the photo. Photos copied or digitally scanned from driver's licenses or other official documents are not acceptable. In addition, low quality vending machine or mobile phone photos are not acceptable. "Passport" photos are acceptable. Unacceptable photos will be returned and may delay the issuance of your license.
4.	Did you request that an original National Board score be forwarded to the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners? Board will obtain these scores .
	You must contact the National Board of Dental Examiners at 211 E. Chicago Avenue, Suite 1846, Chicago, IL 60611 or (312) 440-2678 or (800) 621-8099 and request that your Testing Score be released to the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners. Board will obtain these scores after you have made the request.
5.	Did you request a certified ADEX/NERB examination report from the Commissions on Dental Competency Assessments (CDCA)? Board will obtain these scores.
6.	Did you enclose certified proof of your dental hygiene education, such as transcripts, certified copy of diploma or a letter from the school? <i>Please note that the</i> original embossed school seal must be affixed to copies of transcripts and diplomas submitted to the Board.
7.	Did you enclose certified letters with the state seal affixed from each state in which you hold or have ever held a license, verifying that the license is or was in good standing and that no disciplinary action has ever been taken against the license? (Does not apply to graduating students)
8.	Did you attach a separate page identifying your employers for the 3 year period immediately preceding the date of your application beginning with your most recent employer. The document should include the following: (Please print or type) name of your employer, name of your supervising dentist, street address, dates of employment, and the number of hours worked for each employer. (Does not apply to graduating students)
9.	Did you enclose documentation of legal name change (i.e. marriage certificate, divorce degree or court documents) if the documents sent with the application are in another name?
10.	Did you enclose the Maryland State Jurisprudence Examination and the notarized affidavit along with the \$50.00 non-refundable fee in a check or money order made payable to the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners?

MARYLAND STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS GUIDELINES FOR DENTAL HYGIENE LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION

The Board <u>may not</u> process a licensure application until each provision or requirement is met and each document is received. Please ensure that your application is complete before it is submitted.

The applicant shall:

- a. Be of good moral character; and
- b. Be at least 18 years old; and
- c. Be a graduate of a school of dental hygiene that requires at least 2 years of education in an institution of higher education, is accredited by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation, and is approved by the Board; and
- d. Have passed the American Board of Dental Examiners (ADEX/NERB) examination. In accordance with COMAR 10.44.15 the Board may require that an applicant for licensure successfully pass each required section of the ADEX/NERB clinical examination if the Board determines that the applicant may have lost clinical skills because of an extended absence from clinical practice.

To apply for licensure, submit the Application for Dental Hygiene Licensure by Examination and enclose the following with your application:

- ➤ A \$275 non-refundable fee. Additional fees may be levied by the Board for investigatory purposes.
- > A photograph that meets the requirements contained in the Checklist with the following notarized statement: "The picture is a true photograph of me."
- Certified proof of your dental hygiene education. Acceptable proof includes a certified copy of a diploma, a letter from the school, or official transcripts. Please do not submit your original copy. The document must contain the raised, embossed school seal certifying its authenticity. However, letters from educational institutions on original letterhead, bearing an original signature do not require a raised, embossed school seal.
- A certified letter with the state seal affixed from each state in which you hold or have ever held a license, verifying that the license is or was in good standing and indicating whether any disciplinary action has ever been taken against the license. (Does not apply to graduating students)
- Attach a separate page identifying your employers for the 3 year period immediately preceding the date of your application beginning with your most recent employer. The document should include the following: (Please print or type) name of your employer, name of your supervising dentist, street address, dates of employment, and the number of hours worked for each employer. (Does not apply to graduating students)
- If applicable, evidence of legal name change, such as a marriage certificate or court documents.

Additional Requirements:

Maryland Jurisprudence Examination. All applicants for licensure in Maryland must pass the Jurisprudence Examination on the Dental Laws and Regulations of this State with at least a score of 75%. It is an open book examination and may be found on the Board's website at www.health.maryland.gov/dental. The examination cannot be taken on-line. You must download the examination, print a hard copy, and complete the examination. Send the completed examination, Affidavit, and \$50.00 examination fee to the Board office.

Incomplete applications will be returned and will be subject to a \$50.00 application reprocessing fee.

MAIL APPLICATION AND SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS TO:

Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners The Benjamin Rush Building Spring Grove Hospital Center 55 Wade Avenue/Tulip Drive Catonsville, MD 21228 ATTN: Licensing Unit $Larry\ Hogan,\ Governor\ \bullet Boyd\ K.\ Rutherford,\ Lt.\ Governor\ \bullet Robert\ R.\ Neall,\ Secretary$

Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners

Spring Grove Hospital Center • Benjamin Rush Building 55 Wade Avenue/Tulip Drive • Catonsville, Maryland 21228

This is a true photo of myself taken within the last 2 years to reflect my current appearance. In addition, the photograph complies with the photograph requirements contained in my **PICTURE** application. **Print Name Applicant Signature** Date **NOTARY SECTION** State of ______, County of ______, Then personally appeared the above named ______, and signed and sworn to the truth of the foregoing statements in my presence. Notary Public: My Commission Expires:

SPRING GROVE HOSPITAL CENTER • BENJAMIN RUSH BUILDING 55 WADE AVENUE/TULIP DRIVE • CATONSVILLE, MARYLAND 21228 PHONE - 410-402-8511 • FAX - 410-402-8505 www.health.maryland.gov/dental

Jurisprudence Examination Affidavit

AFFIDAVIT of Applicant:		
l,	, do hereby certify under oath the fol	llowing:
I understand that this is an open book examinatio completing this examination are the Maryland Dental F		of assistance for
I have read the Maryland Dental Practice Act and examination without the aid or assistance of any indivi		completed this
I further understand that in accordance with Mary Board shall have the authority to refuse to grant a lice a finding that licensee or applicant has knowingly mad representations in the practice of dentistry or on any or	ense or to revoke a license or to disci le misleading, deceptive, untrue or f	ipline a licensee upon
Witnessed my signature, the day of _	, 20)
Signature of Affiant		
Sworn to and subscribed before me this	day of	, 20
Notary Public		
My Commission Expires:		

SPRING GROVE HOSPITAL CENTER • BENJAMIN RUSH BUILDING
55 WADE AVENUE/TULIP DRIVE • CATONSVILLE, MARYLAND 21228
PHONE - 410-402-8510 • FAX - 410-402-8505
www.health.maryland.gov/dental

Please mail your completed test, affidavit and a check or a money order in the amount of \$50.00 (non-refundable) made payable to the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners to the address listed above.

Name		Date			
Address		Social Securit	Social Security Number		
		Telephone Nu	mber		
		2024			
	GIENE – JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION				
The succes	ssful completion of this examination fulfills the Dental Examiners for Dental Hygiel				
	ON ONE – TWO POINTS FOR EACH QUI LY WITHIN THE SCOPE OF PRACTICE				
A.	Place or remove an arch wire	P.	Construct athletic mouth guards on		
B.	Perform curettage		models		
C.	Fabricate bleaching, fluoride and impression trays on models	Q.	Remove a temporary restoration – intracoronal		
D.	Apply silver diamide	R.	Administer local anesthesia by infiltration		
E.	Place and remove retraction cord	S.	Etch teeth		
F.	Perform brush biopsy	T.	Perform a preliminary dental exam		
G.	Administer nitrous oxide	U.	Remove sutures		
H.	Take alginate impressions for study	V.	Place an original periodontal dressing		
	models or diagnostic casts	W.	Prepare and fit stainless steel crowns		
I.	Apply bonding agent	X.	Apply pit and fissure sealants		
J.	Place or remove cemented or bonded	Y.	Expose radiographs		
	orthodontic bands and attachments				
K.	Perform vitality tests				
L.	Cement permanent crowns				
M.	Adjust the occlusion of a natural tooth, restoration, or appliance – intraorally				
N.	Apply and remove a socket dressing				

Use high speed hand piece- intraorally

0.

SECTION TWO – FIVE POINTS FOR EACH QUESTION. CIRCLE LETTER NEXT TO THE CORRECT ANSWER. EACH QUESTION HAS ONE CORRECT ANSWER.

- 1. Sexual misconduct of either a verbal or physical nature includes but is not limited to:
 - a. Requesting sexual favors of a patient
 - b. Touching a patient in a sexual manner
 - c. Verbal conduct of a sexual nature while treating a patient
 - d. All of the above
 - e. Answers a. and b. only
- 2. Dental hygienists in the State of Maryland may perform dental hygiene services under general supervision in a private dental office with the permission of the supervising dentist if:
 - a. The dental hygienist has at least 1,200 hours of dental hygiene clinical practice in direct patient care
 - b. Treatments authorized by the supervising dentist to be provided by the dental hygienist are rendered no later than 6 months from the date the patient was examined and evaluated by the supervising dentist
 - c. There is a written agreement between the supervising dentist and the dental hygienist that clearly sets forth the terms and conditions under which the dental hygienist may practice, including a statement that the dental hygienist may provide dental hygiene services without the supervising dentist on the premises
 - d. The number of unsupervised clinical hours worked by a supervised dental hygienist in any given calendar week is less than 50 percent of the dental hygienist's total hours
 - e. All of the above
- 3. Dental hygienists may be disciplined by the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners for:
 - a. Failing to display a copy of his/her license and renewal certificates
 - b. Willfully making or filing a false report or record in the practice of dental hygiene
 - Having been convicted of or having pled guilty or nolo contendre to a felony or to a crime involving moral turpitude, whether or not any appeal or other proceeding is pending to have the conviction or please set aside
 - d. All of the above

- 4. In the office where you are employed as a dental hygienist, a dentist requests that you perform a procedure that is unlawful for a dental hygienist to perform in Maryland; however, you perform the requested procedure as directed by the dentist:
 - a. Your license to practice dental hygiene may be subject to disciplinary action by the Board
 - b. Your license to practice dental hygiene is not subject to disciplinary action by the Board since you performed the procedure as directed by a dentist
 - c. Only the dentist's license is subject to disciplinary action by the Board
 - d. Answers b. and c. only
 - e. All of the above
- 5. Administration of Nitrous Oxide: A licensed dental hygienist in Maryland is permitted to administer nitrous oxide to dental patients under certain prescribed circumstances. Which of the following are true?
 - a. The dental hygienist must complete a 6-hour Board-approved course of instruction on administration of nitrous oxide through an accredited dental hygiene program
 - b. The dental hygienist must submit proof of having passed the Commission on Dental Competency Assessments Nitrous Oxide Examination for Dental Hygienists
 - c. The Dental Hygienist may not leave the operatory during administration or monitoring of the nitrous oxide except in emergency circumstances
 - d. The dentist need not be in the operatory, but must remain in the dental office during the administration and monitoring of nitrous oxide, and be in appropriate proximity to be summoned in the event of an emergency
 - e. All of the above are true
- 6. An individual holding an expired general license to practice dental hygiene may apply for reinstatement if the individual:
 - a. Submits to the Board notarized affidavits, or other evidence satisfactory to the Board, that the applicant has actively practiced dental hygiene within the 3 years immediately preceding the date of application for reinstatement
 - b. Submits to the Board satisfactory proof of licensure and good standing from all states in which the applicant is currently licensed
 - c. Submits to the Board an application for reinstatement on a form provided by the Board
 - d. All of the above

7.		ntal hygienist in the State of Maryland m cility that has been granted a waiver of		tal hygiene services under general supervision ne dental hygienist:	in
	a.	Holds an active license to practice der	ntal hygiene in Ma	aryland	
	b.	Holds a current certificate of Health Ca	are Provider Prof	iciency in Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation	
	C.	Have at least 2 years experience in di	rect patient care i	in the active clinical practice of dental hygiene	
	d.	Holds a current certificate from a Boar hours duration on the treatment of the		nsor indicating successful completion of at least 8 bled in a dental health care setting	
	e.	All of the above			
	f.	Answers a., b., and c. only			
8.		ental hygienist who is recognized by the supervision of a dentist who is physica		nister local anesthesia may only do so under ne premises at the time of treatment.	
	a.	True			
	b.	False			
9.		censee must complete hours o nse for a two-year period.	f continuing edu	ucation in order to renew a dental hygiene	
	a.	12 hours	C.	25 hours	
	b.	15 hours	d.	30 hours	
10.	The	following intraoral functions may not b	e performed in t	the practice of dental hygiene.	
	a.	Diagnosis			
	b.	Cavity Repair			
	C.	Tooth placement correction			
	d.	Condensing, carving, or finishing any	restoration		
	e.	All of the above			
	f.	Answers a. and b. only			

BENJAMIN RUSH BUILDING • SPRING GROVE HOSPITAL CENTER WADE AVENUE/TULIP DRIVE • BALTIMORE, MARYLAND 21228 PHONE - 410-402-8510 • FAX - 410-402-8505 www.health.maryland.gov/dental

PLEASE PRINT CAREFULLY. THIS WILL BE USED TO NOTIFY YOU OF YOUR RESULTS

JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION SCORES

FROM THE MARYLAND STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

NAME	<u> </u>			
ADDF	RESS			
			_	
				
SCOF	RE:	<u>-</u>		
	PASSED			
	FAILED			

Spring Grove Hospital Center • Benjamin Rush Building • 55 Wade Avenue • Catonsville, Maryland 21228 • (410) 402-8510

APPLICATION FOR RECOGNITION TO ADMINISTER LOCAL ANESTHESIA BY INFILTRATION AND INFERIOR ALVEOLAR NERVE BLOCK

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

Complete all portions of the application. Enclose a fifty \$50 (dollar) non-refundable check or money order made payable to the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners. Enclose all necessary documents. Failure to do so may result in the return of the application.

Notice for Mailing List:

The information collected on this application form is collected for the purposes of the Board's functions under the Annotated Code of MD, Health Occupations Article, Title 4. Failure to provide the information may result in denial of your application. You have a right to inspect, amend, and request correction of this information. The Board may permit inspection of this information or make it available to others only as permitted by federal and State law. Under the Maryland Public Information Act, Annotated Code of Maryland, General Provisions Article, §4-333, the Board may provide, for a fee, a list of licensees' names and addresses to professional associations and other entities. You may request in writing that your name be omitted from such lists.

SE	CTION I – GENERAL I	NFORMATION
	me ast, First, Middle Initial):	
	dress of Record: treet Address)	
Ci	ty, State, Zip:	
	D Dental Hygiene cense Number:	
th th im	e Board you must file a cl e address on this form di	ove provided to the Board in this application differs from the address you have on file with hange of address form with the Board. The Board will not change the address it has on file in fighters from the address it already has on file. Failure to do so may result in your not receiving the Board and may ultimately result in disciplinary action. Please keep an updated address times.
	Social Security Numbers	ent that you disclose your social security number. It will be used for identification purposes only.)
н.	Date of Birth:	
I.	Home Phone Number:	
J.	Cell Phone Number:	
K.	Work Phone Number:	
L.	E-Mail Address:	
G.	Gender Identification:	Female Male
н.	Race/Ethnic Identificati	on – Please check <u>all</u> that apply
	Are you of Hispanic or Latir (A person of Cuban, Mexica	no origin? Yes No No no origin? Yes No no origin? No no origin? No no origin, Puerto Rican, South or Central American, or other Spanish culture or origin, regardless of race.)

Select on	ne or more of the following racial	categories:			
	American Indian or Alaska Native (A person having origins in any of the original peoples of North or South America, including Central America, and who maintains tribal affiliations or community attachment.)				
	Asian (A person having origin in any of the original peoples of the Far East, Southeast Asia, or the Indian subcontinent including, for example, Cambodia, China, India, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Pakistan, the Philippine Islands, Thailand, and Vietnam.)				
3.	Black or African American (A pers	son having origins in any of the black racial g	roups of Africa.)		
	Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Pacific Islands.)	Islander (A person having origins in the origin	nal peoples of Hawaii, Guam, Samoa, or other		
5.	White (A person having origins in	n any of the original peoples of Europe, the M	liddle East, or North Africa.)		
	ensure in other states: r states or jurisdictions in which y	ou hold or have held a dental hygiene license	2.		
State		License Number	Expiration Date		
	tification in other states: r states or jurisdictions in which y	ou hold or have held a certificate to administ	er local anesthesia.		
		ou hold or have held a certificate to administ Certificate Number	er local anesthesia. Expiration Date		
List other					
List other					
List other					
List other					
State SECTIO	r states or jurisdictions in which y		Expiration Date		
State SECTIO A. School	r states or jurisdictions in which y	Certificate Number City, State, Country):	Expiration Date		
SECTIO B. Date	ON II - EDUCATION Ool of Dental Hygiene (Name,	Certificate Number City, State, Country):	Expiration Date		
SECTIO A. School B. Date SECTIO ALVEOL A. Have	ON II - EDUCATION ool of Dental Hygiene (Name, of Graduation: ON III - RECOGNITION TO LAR NERVE BLOCK you passed a course of instruction	City, State, Country): Degree Earned: ADMINISTER LOCAL ANESTHESIA I	Expiration Date BY INFILTRATION AND INFERIOR f at least 28 hours in the administration of local		

B. If y	ou answe	ered "Yes" to question A. did you pass the course:						
(1)	(1) As an undergraduate student at an accredited school of dental hygiene; or							
(2)	(2) After graduation from an accredited school of dental hygiene.							
Identify	Identify accredited school of dental hygiene at which course was completed:							
Date or	n which o	course was completed:						
C. Have	e you pas	ssed the American Board of Dental Examiners, Inc. Local Anesthesia Examination for Dental Hygienists?						
	Ye:	S No						
D. If yo	ou answe	red "Yes" to question C. provide the date on which you passed:						
If you	answer	- CHARACTER AND FITNESS "YES" to any question(s) in Section V— Character and Fitness, attach a separate page with a complete feach occasion. Each attachment must have your name in print, signature, and date.						
TES	NO							
		a. Has any licensing or disciplinary board of any jurisdiction, including Maryland, or any federal entity denied your application for licensure, reinstatement, or renewal, or taken any action against your license, including but not limited to reprimand, suspension, revocation, a fine, or non-judicial punishment? If you are under a Board Order or were ever under a Board Order in a state other than Maryland you must enclose a certified legible copy of the entire Order with this application.						
		b. Have any investigations or charges been brought against you or are any currently pending in any jurisdiction, including Maryland, by any licensing or disciplinary board or any federal or state entity?						
		c. Has your application for a dental hygiene license in any jurisdiction been withdrawn for any reason?						
		d. Has an investigation or charge been brought against you by a hospital, related institution, or alternative health care system?						
		e. Have you had any denial of application for privileges, been denied for failure to renew your privileges, or limitation, restriction, suspension, revocation or loss of privileges in a hospital, related health care facility, or alternative health care system?						
		f. Have you pled guilty, nolo contendere, had a conviction or receipt of probation before judgment or other diversionary disposition of any criminal act, excluding minor traffic violations?						
		g. Have you pled guilty, nolo contendere, had a conviction, or receipt of probation before judgment or other diversionary disposition for an alcohol or controlled dangerous substance offense, including but not limited to driving while under the influence of alcohol or controlled dangerous substances?						
		h. Do you have criminal charges pending against you in any court of law, excluding minor traffic violations?						
		i. Do you have a physical condition that impairs your ability to practice dental hygiene?						
		j. Do you have a mental health condition that impairs your ability to practice dental hygiene?						
		k. Have the use of drugs and/or alcohol resulted in an impairment of your ability to practice dental hygiene?						
		I. Have you illegally used drugs?						

Chara	acter a	and Fitness Questions – Contd.
YES	NO	
		m. Have you surrendered or allowed your license to lapse while under investigation by any licensing or disciplinary board of any jurisdiction, including Maryland, or any federal or state entity?
		n. Have you been named as a defendant in a filing or settlement of a malpractice action?
		o. Has your employment been affected or have you voluntarily resigned from any employment, in any setting, or have you been terminated or suspended, from any hospital, related health care or other institution, or any federal entity for any disciplinary reasons or while under investigation for disciplinary reasons?
numero infectio	us dental us disease	Committee assists dental hygienists and their families who are experiencing personal problems. The Committee helped I hygienists over the years with problems such as stress, drug dependence, alcoholism, depression, medical problems, ses, neurological disorders and other illnesses that cause impairment. For more information please call 800-974-0068 or at www.mdhawell-being.org.
	y affirm th	Certification: that I have read and followed the above instructions. I hereby certify that all information in this application is accurate
applicat agency, Nationa that any	ion for re including Practitio person o	Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners (the Board) may request any information necessary to process my ecognition to administer local anesthesia by infiltration and inferior alveolar nerve block in Maryland from any person or g but not limited to undergraduate and postgraduate program directors, individual dentists, government agencies, the oner Data Bank, the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank, hospitals, and other licensing bodies, and I agree or agency may release to the Board the information requested. I also agree to sign any subsequent release for may be requested by the Board.
		Il fully cooperate with any request for information or with any investigation related to my practice of dental hygiene as I hygienist in the State of Maryland.
original	ly gave in	d in which my application is being processed, I shall inform the Board within 30 days of any change to any answer I in this application, any arrest or conviction, any change of address or any action that occurs based on accusations that discriplinary action under the Annotated Code of Maryland, Health Occupations §4-315.
Applica	ant Signa	ature Date
NOTAR	Y SECTI	ION
Stat	e of	, County of, Then personally appeared the
abov	e named	d, and signed and sworn to the truth of the foregoing
state	ements in	n my presence.
	Nota	ary Public:
	МуС	Commission Expires:

Check List for Recognition to Administer Local Anesthesia by Infiltration and Inferior Alveolar Nerve Block

The Board <u>may not</u> process an application until each provision or requirement is met and each document is received. Please ensure that your application is complete before it is submitted.

 NOTARIZED APPLICATION: Completed application form accompanied by supporting documents. The licensure process could take up to a minimum of <u>30 days</u> after submission of a competed application. Plan your application time accordingly.
2. The \$50 non-refundable application fee payable by check or money order made payable to The Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners (MSBDE).
3. The letter from the either the Dean or the head of the dental hygiene department of the accredited dental hygiene program at which you completed the 28-hour course on local anesthesia and nerve block indicating that you have successfully completed the course and that you have received an overall passing grade of at least 75 percent in both the course's written and clinical examination. The letter must be on the letterhead of the dental hygiene program, have an original signature, and contain the raised embossed school seal.
4. Certified examination scores from the Commission on Dental Competency Assessment (CDCA) indicating that you passed the Nitrous Oxide Examination for Dental Hygienists. Board will obtain these scores.
5. Copy of court documents for any discrepancies of the applicant's name if documents submitted bear different name(s), [i.e. marriage certificate, divorce decree, legal name change].

MAIL APPLICATION AND SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS TO:

Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners Spring Grove Hospital Center Benjamin Rush Building 55 Wade Avenue Catonsville, MD 21228

ATTN: Local Anesthesia Recognition

Spring Grove Hospital Center • Benjamin Rush Building • 55 Wade Avenue • Catonsville, Maryland 21228 • (410) 402-8510

DENTAL HYGIENIST APPLICATION FOR RECOGNITION TO ADMINSTER NITROUS OXIDE

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

Complete all portions of the application. Enclose a fifty \$50 (dollar) non-refundable check or money order made payable to the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners. Enclose all necessary documents. Failure to do so may result in the return of the application.

Notice For Mailing List:

The information collected on this application form is collected for the purposes of the Board's functions under the Annotated Code of MD, Health Occupations Article, Title 4. Failure to provide the information may result in denial of your application. You have a right to inspect, amend, and request correction of this information. The Board may permit inspection of this information or make it available to others only as permitted by federal and State law. Under the Maryland Public Information Act, Annotated Code of Maryland, General Provisions Article, §4-333, the Board may provide, for a fee, a list of licensees' names and addresses to professional associations and other entities. You may request in writing that your name be omitted from such lists.

SECTION I – GENERAL 	INFORMATION
Name (Last, First, Middle Initial):	
Address of Record: (Street Address)	
City, State, Zip:	
Maryland Dental Hygiene License Number:	
the Board you must file a the address on this form d	ave provided to the Board in this application differs from the address you have on file with change of address form with the Board. The Board will not change the address it has on file if liffers from the address it already has on file. Failure to do so may result in your not receiving m the Board and may ultimately result in disciplinary action. Please keep an updated address II times.
A. Social Security Number (There is a statutory requirem	r:
B. Date of Birth:	
C. Home Phone Number:	
D. Cell Phone Number:	
E. Work Phone Number:	
F. E-Mail Address:	
G. Gender Identification:	Female Male

State	License Number	Expiration Date
		administer a patient to whom nitrous oxide has been a certificate to administer nitrous oxide.
State	Certificate Number	Expiration Date
SECTION II — EDUCATION A. School of Dental Hygiene (Name, City, State, Country):	
B. Date of Graduation:	Degree Earned	d:
SECTION III – RECOGNITION	ON TO ADMINISTER NITROUS OXID	<u>E</u>
	struction at an accredited dental hygiene pro of didactic training and at least 2 hours of cl	gram of at least 6 hours in the administering of nitrous linical training?
Yes	lo	
B. If you answered "Yes" to quest	ion A. did you pass the course:	
(1) \square As an undergraduate studer	t at an accredited school of dental hygiene; o	or
(2) After graduation from an ac	credited school of dental hygiene.	
Identify accredited school of denta	I hygiene at which course was completed:	
Date on which course was comple	red:	
SECTION IV - CHARACTER	AND FITNESS	
If you answer "YES" to any qu		Fitness, attach a separate page with a complete in print, signature, and date.
YES NO		
		or any federal or state entity denied your application for a patient to whom nitrous oxide has been administered,

action against your license, including but not limited to reprimand, suspension, revocation, a fine, or non judicial

punishment?

CHARACTER AND FITNESS – Cont'd

YES	NO	
		b. Have any investigations or charges been brought against you or are any currently pending in any jurisdiction by any licensing or disciplinary board or any federal or state entity?
		c. Has your application for a dental hygiene license certification to administer a patient to whom nitrous oxide has been administered, certification to assist in the administration of nitrous oxide, or certification to administer nitrous oxide been withdrawn in any state for any reason?
		d. Has an investigation or charge been brought against you by a hospital, related institution, or alternative health care system?
		e. Have you had any denial of application for privileges, been denied for failure to renew your privileges or limitation, restriction, suspension, revocation or loss of privileges in a hospital, related health care facility, or alternative health care system?
		f. Have you pled guilty, nolo contendere, had a conviction or receipt of probation before judgment or other diversionary disposition of any criminal act, excluding minor traffic violations?
		g. Have you pled guilty, nolo contendere, had a conviction, or receipt of probation before judgment or other diversionary disposition for an alcohol or controlled dangerous substance offense, including but not limited to driving while under the influence of alcohol or controlled dangerous substances?
		h. Are there any criminal charges against you in any court of law, excluding minor traffic violations?
		i. Do you have a physical or mental condition that currently impairs your ability to practice dental hygiene?
		j. Has the use of drugs and/or alcohol resulted in an impairment of your ability to practice your profession?
		k. Do you illegally use drugs?
		I. Have you surrendered or allowed your license to lapse while under investigation by any licensing or disciplinary board of any jurisdiction, including Maryland, or any federal or state entity?
		m. Have you been named as a defendant in a filing or settlement of a malpractice action?
		n. Has your employment been affected or have you voluntarily resigned from any employment, in any setting, or have you been terminated or suspended, from any hospital, related health care or other institution, or any federal or state entity for any disciplinary reasons or while under investigation for disciplinary reasons?

Release and Certification:

I hereby affirm that I have read and followed the above instructions. I hereby certify that all information in this application is accurate and correct.

I agree that the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners (the Board) may request any information necessary to process my application for recognition to administer nitrous oxide in Maryland from any person or agency, including but not limited to undergraduate and postgraduate program directors, individual dentists, government agencies, the National Practitioner Data Bank, the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank, hospitals, and other licensing bodies, and I agree that any person or agency may release to the Board the information requested. I also agree to sign any subsequent release for information that may be requested by the Board.

I agree that I will fully cooperate with any request for information or with any investigation related to my practice of dental hygiene as a licensed dental hygienist in the State of Maryland.

During the period in which my application is being processed, I shall inform the Board within 30 days of any change to any answer I originally gave in this application, any arrest or conviction, any change of address or any action that occurs based on accusations that would be grounds for disciplinary action under the Annotated Code of Maryland, Health Occupations §4-315.						
Applicant Signature	Da	ate				
NOTARY SECTION						
State of	, County of	, Then personally appeared the above				
named	, and signed and sw	orn to the truth of the foregoing statements in my				
presence.						
Notary Public:		My Commission Expires:				

Check List for Dental Hygienist Recognition to Administer Nitrous Oxide

The Board <u>may not</u> process an application until each provision or requirement is met and each document is received. Please ensure that your application is complete before it is submitted.

 NOTARIZED APPLICATION: Completed application form accompanied by supporting documents. The licensure process could take up to a minimum of <u>30 days</u> after submission of a competed application. Plan your application time accordingly.
The \$50 non-refundable application fee payable by check or money order made payable to The Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners (MSBDE).
3. The letter from the either the Dean or the head of the dental hygiene department of the accredited dental hygiene program at which you completed the 6-hour course on administering nitrous oxide, indicating that you have successfully completed the course and that you have received an overall passing grade of at least 75 percent in both the course's written and clinical examination. The letter must be on the letterhead of the dental hygiene program, have an original signature, and contain the raised embossed school seal.
4. Certified examination scores from the Commission on Dental Competency Assessment (CDCA) indicating that you passed the Nitrous Oxide Examination for Dental Hygienists. Board will obtain these scores.
5. Copy of court documents for any discrepancies of the applicant's name if documents submitted bear different name(s), [i.e. marriage certificate, divorce decree, legal name change].

MAIL APPLICATION AND SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS TO:

Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners Spring Grove Hospital Center Benjamin Rush Building 55 Wade Avenue Catonsville, MD 21228

ATTN: Administer Nitrous Oxide