## Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners Spring Grove Hospital Center • Benjamin Rush Building 55 Wade Avenue • Tulip Drive Catonsville, Maryland 21228 (410) 402-8511

## 2020 RENEWAL INSTRUCTIONS RENEWAL DEADLINE JUNE 30, 2020

## **Renewal Instructions:**

This is your renewal package for the July 1, 2020 through June 30, 2022 renewal period. Our renewal application has changed. Please carefully read and complete each section of the renewal application that pertains to your licensure type and return it to our office on or before Tuesday, June 30, 2020. You may renew only if you have completed your continuing education requirements by December 31, 2019 or have requested a six-month extension to complete the requirements by June 30, 2020, as required by regulation. Your signature on the application attests to the successful completion of the required hours by the deadline. Submission of any false statement regarding continuing education may result in formal disciplinary action by the Board.

Your application must be <u>fully</u> completed and signed in order to be processed. **Incomplete forms will be returned and will cause your renewal to be delayed and subject you to a reprocessing fee of \$50.** Applications that are not fully completed, signed, and received by the Board before the expiration date will subject you to additional fees and possible disciplinary action. **Practicing without a current active license, registration, or certification is a violation of the Dentistry Act and could result in disciplinary action, including suspension or revocation.** 

<u>Address</u>: The Board must, by law, have a valid address for you. <u>The address you provide is the "address of</u> record" that is available for public information requests and the address to which the Board will forward all <u>correspondence</u>. The Board <u>does not</u> send licenses, registrations, or certifications to post office boxes. You must provide a street address. Please provide a telephone number where you can be reached during the day in the event the Board needs to contact you regarding the processing of your application.

<u>Continuing Education</u>: A licensee shall complete not less than 30 full hours of continuing education, including at least 2-hours of infection control and 2-hours of Pharmacology, <u>if required to do so</u> during the 2-year period from January 1, 2018 – December 31, 2019. A licensee must also maintain cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) certification from the American Heart Association's Basic Life Support for Healthcare Providers, the American Red Cross Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation for Professional Rescuers, or an equivalent program approved by the Board. The CPR certification does not count toward fulfilling the continuing education requirements. In addition, you must complete a 2-hour Board-approved course on abuse and neglect as it relates to Maryland law, <u>if required to do so</u>, which you may take in a classroom or on-line. Also, licensees may complete a combined total of up to 4 hours of Board-approved courses in 1) Cultural and Linguistic Competency, Health Disparities, and Health Literacy; and 2) Military Culture.

Licensees must complete the enclosed Statement of Continuing Education Courses Completed for License Renewal. You need to list the name of the course, the number of credit hours, the date completed, the name of instructor or sponsor, and check if self-study. <u>Do not submit course completion certificates</u>. <u>Licensees selected</u> for a continuing education audit receive separate notification. <u>If you received an audit notification letter</u> you need not complete the enclosed Statement of Continuing Education Courses Completed for License <u>Renewal.</u> Not all courses and programs are accepted by the Board. The course or program must be designed to enhance the licensee's clinical knowledge and ability to treat dental patients and it must be offered by a Board-approved sponsor. <u>Only clinically related subject matter that is given by approved sponsors will qualify for continuing education credit</u>. Up to 17 credit hours of clinically related subject matter, including infection control may be gained through self-study activities during any renewal cycle. Exercise caution when selecting courses for continuing education credit. Board-approved sponsors sometimes offer courses that are not clinically related and may claim the course is Board-approved although it may not be approved. It is your responsibility to ensure that the course qualifies for continuing education credit. If you have questions about whether a course will meet the continuing education requirements please contact the Board. Please also remember that a licensee must maintain accurate records of continuing education courses or programs for the preceding 5 years, and must make the records available to the Board or its representatives upon request.

# FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS BY DECEMBER 31, 2019 OR, IF AN EXTENSION HAS BEEN GRANTED, JUNE 30, 2020, WILL RESULT IN NON-RENEWAL OF THE DENTAL LICENSE.

Continuing education for license renewal is governed by the Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR) 10.44.22. COMAR regulations are available on the web at <u>www.dsd.state.md.us</u>. Statutes governing the Board are available on the Maryland General Assembly's website at http://mgaleg.maryland.gov.

**2020 Renewal:** Please note the current renewal fees on the application form. Please also note that each health occupations board, including the Dental Board, is required to collect a user fee for the Maryland Health Care Commission (MHCC). The fee funds the cost of services and information the MHCC provides to consumers and healthcare practitioners. By law, dental hygienists are not subject to this fee. Please be aware that the Dental Board collects and submits these fees to the MHCC. The Dental Board does not retain these funds. For more information on the MHCC, please visit their website at mhcc.maryland.gov

The Budget and Reconciliation and Financing Act of 2003 requires the Dental Board to verify through the Office of the Comptroller that licensed health professionals, and certain other health entities operating under Maryland licenses or permits, have paid all undisputed taxes and unemployment insurance contributions before they are issued renewed licenses or permits.

## Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners Spring Grove Hospital Center • Benjamin Rush Building 55 Wade Avenue • Tulip Drive Catonsville, Maryland 21228 (410) 402-8511

# **DENTIST LICENSE RENEWAL - 2020**

Name

License Number \_\_\_\_\_

#### Notice for Mailing List:

The information collected on this application form is collected for the purposes of the Board's functions under Annotated Code of Maryland, Health Occupations Article, Title 4. Failure to provide the information may result in denial of your application. You have a right to inspect, amend, and request correction of this information. The Board may permit inspection of this information or make it available to others only as permitted by federal and State law. Under the Maryland Public Information Act, Annotated Code of Maryland, General Provisions Article, §4-333, the Board may provide, for a fee, a list of licensees' names and addresses to professional associations and other entities. You may request in writing that your name be omitted from such lists.

#### SECTION I – CHANGE OF NAME AND ADDRESS

If your name has changed since the last renewal, please submit proof of name change such as a court document or marriage certificate to the Board. Law requires licensees to notify the Board of a name or address change within 60 days.

Name	
(Last, First, Middle Initial):	
Street Address:	
City, State, Zip:	

#### 2020 RENEWAL FEES – PAYABLE TO THE MARYLAND STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

Active Dentist: June 1<sup>st</sup> – June 30<sup>th</sup>, 2020 \$560 Renewal Fee + \$26 Maryland Health Care Commission Assessment Fee = <u>\$586</u>

Active Dentist: July 1<sup>st</sup> – July 31<sup>st</sup>, 2020 \$560 Renewal Fee + \$26 Maryland Health Care Commission Assessment Fee + \$300 Late Fee = <u>\$886</u>

**Inactive Dentist:** June  $1^{st}$  – June  $30^{th}$ , 2020 **\$150** Renewal Fee + **\$26** Maryland Health Care Commission Assessment Fee = <u>**\$176**</u>

**Inactive Dentist:** July  $1^{st}$  – July  $31^{st}$ , 2020 **\$150** Renewal Fee + **\$26** Maryland Health Care Commission Assessment Fee = **§176** 

On or after August 3, 2020, all dentists who have not renewed their licenses must apply for reinstatement if they wish to receive a Maryland license. Reinstatement requirements can be found in the Code of Maryland Regulations, Title 10, Subtitle 44, Chapter 10.

#### SECTION II – GENERAL INFORMATION

<b>A. Social Security Number:</b> (There is a statutory requirement t	hat you disclose your social security number. It will be used for identification purposes only.)
B. Cell Phone Number:	
C. Home Phone Number:	
D. Work Phone Number:	
E. E-Mail Address:	

#### SECTION II – GENERAL INFORMATION (CONT'D)

F. Gender Identification:	Female	Male
---------------------------	--------	------

#### G. Race/Ethnic Identification – Please check <u>all</u> that apply

Ar	e you of Hispanic	or Latino	origin?	Yes	] No	]							
(A	person of Cuban,	Mexican,	Puerto 1	Rican, S	South or	Central	American,	or other S	panish cu	alture o	or origin,	regardless	of race.)

Select one or more of the following racial categories:

- 1. American Indian or Alaska Native (A person having origins in any of the original peoples of North or South America, including Central America, and who maintains tribal affiliations or community attachment.)
- 2. Asian (A person having origin in any of the original peoples of the Far East, Southeast Asia, or the Indian subcontinent including, for example, Cambodia, China, India, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Pakistan, the Philippine Islands, Thailand, and Vietnam.)
- 3. Black or African American (A person having origins in any of the black racial groups of Africa.)
- 4. Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander (A person having origins in the original peoples of Hawaii, Guam, Samoa, or other Pacific Islands.)
- 5. White (A person having origins in any of the original peoples of Europe, the Middle East, or North Africa.)

H. Date	of Birth		(mm/dd/	/уууу)	)
---------	----------	--	---------	--------	---

#### I. Requested licensure status:

Check one of the following:

- □ Active
- □ Inactive
- Do not renew
- **D** Retired Volunteer (Please contact the Board's office for a Retired Volunteer Application)

#### J. Present Maryland licensure status:

□ Active

□ Inactive

#### K. Maryland practice:

#### L. Licensure in other states:

State	License Number

#### SECTION III - CHARACTER AND FITNESS

The following questions pertain to the period starting on July 1, 2018 and ending June 30, 2020.

If you answer "YES" to any question(s) in Section III – Character and Fitness, attach a separate page with a complete explanation of each occasion. Each attachment must have your name in print, signature, and date.

## YES NO SINCE JULY 1, 2018

- a. Has any licensing or disciplinary board of any jurisdiction, including Maryland, or any federal entity denied your application for licensure, reinstatement, or renewal, or taken any action against your license, including but not limited to reprimand, suspension, revocation, a fine, or non-judicial punishment? If you are under a Board Order in a state other than Maryland and the Order was effective on or after July 1, 2018, you must enclose a certified legible copy of the entire Order with this application.
- b. Have any investigations or charges been brought against you or are any currently pending in any jurisdiction, including Maryland, by any licensing or disciplinary board or any federal or state entity?
- c. Has your application for a dentist license in any jurisdiction been withdrawn for any reason?

#### SECTION III – CHARACTER AND FITNESS (CONT'D)

YES	NO	
		d. Has an investigation or charge been brought against you by a hospital, related institution, or alternative health care system?
		e. Have you had any denial of application for privileges, been denied for failure to renew your privileges, or limitation, restriction, suspension, revocation or loss of privileges in a hospital, related health care facility, or alternative health care system?
		f. Have you pled guilty, nolo contendere, had a conviction or receipt of probation before judgment or other diversionary disposition of any criminal act, excluding minor traffic violations?
		g. Have you pled guilty, nolo contendere, had a conviction, or receipt of probation before judgment or other diversionary disposition for an alcohol or controlled dangerous substance offense, including but not limited to driving while under the influence of alcohol or controlled dangerous substances?
		h. Do you have criminal charges pending against you in any court of law, excluding minor traffic violations?
		i. Do you have a physical condition that impairs your ability to practice dentistry?
		j. Do you have a mental health condition that impairs your ability to practice dentistry?
		k. Have the use of drugs and/or alcohol resulted in an impairment of your ability to practice dentistry?
		l. Have you illegally used drugs?
		m. Have you surrendered or allowed your license to lapse while under investigation by any licensing or disciplinary board of any jurisdiction, including Maryland, or any federal or state entity?
		n. Have you been named as a defendant in a filing or settlement of a malpractice action?
		o. Has your employment been affected or have you voluntarily resigned from any employment, in any setting, or have you been terminated or suspended, from any hospital, related health care or other institution, or any federal entity for any disciplinary reasons or while under investigation for disciplinary reasons?

## SECTION IV – OWNERSHIP OF A DENTAL PRACTICE

Maryland Law Requires that Each Owner of a Dental Practice Hold an Active Maryland Dental License to Practice Dentistry.

1. Your Name and License Number:

Provide the address (es) at each Maryland office at which you practice dentistry. For each office, indicate the name(s) and license number(s) of each Maryland licensed dentist who holds an ownership interest in the practice at each location. If the dental office(s) are organized as a Professional Corporation, Professional Association, Limited Liability Company, or other business entity, provide the full name of the entity and the name(s) of the Maryland licensed dentist(s) who own the entity.

2. Address: \_\_\_\_\_

Name of Practice: \_\_\_\_\_

Maryland licensed dentist(s) who own the dental practice and their license number(s):

3. Address:

Name of Practice: \_\_\_\_\_

#### SECTION IV - OWNERSHIP OF A DENTAL PRACTICE (CONT'D)

Maryland licensed dentist(s) who own the dental practice and their license number(s):

4. Address:

Name of Practice:\_\_\_\_\_

Maryland licensed dentist(s) who own the dental practice and their license number(s):

The Well Being Committee assists dentists and their families who are experiencing personal problems. The Committee has helped many dentists over the years with problems such as stress, drug dependence, alcoholism, depression, medical problems, infectious diseases, neurological disorders and other illnesses that cause impairment. For more information, go to <u>www.dentistwellbeing.com</u>.

SECTION V – ANESTHESIA AND SEDATION

Please answer the following:

YES NO

	I administer general anesthesia.
	I have a permit to administer general anesthesia.
	I administer parenteral sedation.
	I have a permit to administer parenteral sedation.
	I administer a non-parenteral anesthetic. (Class I Permit Required).
	I have a permit to administer a non-parenteral anesthetic. (Class I Permit Required)

#### **SECTION VI - SPECIALTIES**

Does the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners recognize you as a specialist?  $\Box$  Yes  $\Box$  No If so, please indicate specialty?

## SECTION VII – WORKERS' COMPENSATION

The Annotated Code of Maryland, Health Occupations Article, §1-202 requires that you verify compliance with the Workers' Compensation Law for your renewal to be issued. I hereby certify the following: (a) 🗖 I do not practice in Maryland; OR (b) 🗖 I do practice, but do not employ anyone in my practice in Maryland; OR (c) 🗖 I employ one or more persons in Maryland and have the following Workers' Compensation coverage:

Insurance Company (Workers' Compensation only):

Policy Number:

Expiration Date:

#### SECTION VIII – DENTAL EDUCATION

a. School of graduation:

b. Date of graduation: \_\_\_\_\_\_\_(Month, Day & Year)

c. Degree Earned: \_\_\_\_\_

### SECTION IX - CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS

Choose one statement that applies to you. If you check e., you must include a written request for an extension with this application. All applicants for renewal of an <u>active</u> license must complete and return the enclosed form listing the names, dates, and credit hours of courses taken during the continuing education period.

Notice Regarding 2-Hour Board-Approved Course on Abuse and Neglect: Those who obtained an initial dental license in 2018 must complete a 2-hour Board-approved course on abuse and neglect as it relates to Maryland law before their license will be renewed. Those who renewed their license in 2016 are required to complete the course as a condition of license renewal in this 2020 renewal cycle. Those who renewed their license in 2018 are not required to complete the course as a condition of license renewal in this 2020 renewal cycle. Those who renewed their license renewal in the course be completed every other renewal cycle. Therefore, those who complete the course as a condition of license renewal in 2018 must complete the course again as a condition of license renewal in 2022, 2026, 2030, etc.

Notice Regarding 2-Hour Board-Approved Course on proper prescribing and disposal of prescription drugs (Pharmacology): Those who obtained an initial license in 2018 must complete a 2-hour Board-approved course in pharmacology, even if you do not prescribe prescription drugs. Those who renewed their license in 2018 are not required to complete the course as a condition of license renewal in this 2020 renewal cycle since the regulations require that the course be completed every other renewal cycle. Therefore, those who completed the course as a condition of license renewal in 2018 must complete the course again as a condition of license renewal in 2022, 2026, 2030, etc., even if you do not prescribe prescription drugs.

Notice Regarding Board-Approved Courses in 1) Cultural and Linguistic Competency, Health Disparities, and Health Literacy; and 2) Military Culture: A licensee may earn a combined total of up to 4 continuing education hours for the following Board-approved courses: 1) Cultural and Linguistic Competency, Health Disparities, and Health Literacy; and 2) Military Culture.

For additional information please visit the Board's website at health.maryland.gov/dental and click on the link under the topic Continuing Education – Courses in Cultural and Linguistic Competency, Health Disparities, and Health Literacy; and Courses in Military Culture.

- a. <u>Continuing education requirement met</u>. I have completed 30 hours of continuing education, including two (2) hours of Infection control, two (2) hours of Pharmacology (if required to do so) and maintained my CPR certification during the Period from January 1, 2018 through December 31, 2019. I have also completed a 2-hour Board-approved course on abuse and neglect <u>as it relates to Maryland law (if required to do so)</u>.
- b. <u>New graduate</u>. I received a license within 6 months after graduation from an approved dental school and am not required to fulfill the continuing education requirements of the Board for the first 2-year renewal cycle following initial licensure.
- **c**. <u>Graduate /Resident student.</u> I am currently enrolled in a graduate/specialty program. Please specify program and location.
- d. <u>Inactive status</u>. I have or am requesting an inactive dental license and am not subject to the continuing education required until or unless I request reactivation of the license.
- e. <u>Continuing education requirement not met</u>. I have not fulfilled the continuing education requirements of the Board and have attached a written request for an **extension to June 30, 2020** to satisfy the continuing education requirements. I understand that failure to include a written request for an extension may result in my not meeting the qualifications for renewal of my license.

#### **Release and Certification Instructions:**

Please indicate your acceptance of the Release and Certification by 1) checking the box "Yes" and 2) Signing the Release and Certification.

#### **Release and Certification:**

Practice of dentistry without an active license is a violation of the Dental Practice Act. I affirm that the contents of this document are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief. Failure to provide truthful answers may result in disciplinary action.

I agree that the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners (the Board) may request any information necessary to process my application for a dentist license in Maryland from any person or agency, including but not limited to postgraduate program directors, individual dentists, government agencies, the National Practitioner Data Bank, the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank, hospitals and other licensing bodies, and I agree that any person or agency may release to the Board the information requested. I also agree to sign any subsequent release for information that may be requested by the Board. I agree that I will fully cooperate with any request for information or with any investigation related to my dental practice as a licensed dentist in the State of Maryland, including a subpoena requesting documents or records; the inspection of my dental practice; or my appearance before the Board or its staff.

I shall inform the Board within 60 days of any change to any answer I originally gave in this application, any arrest or conviction, any change of address or any action that occurs based on accusations that would be grounds for disciplinary action under the Annotated Code of Maryland, Health Occupations Article, §4-315. I solemnly affirm, under the penalties of perjury, that the above is true to the best of my knowledge, information or belief.

**U** Yes (In addition please sign the Release and Certification which follows)

Applicant Signature

Date

#### STATEMENT OF CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES COMPLETED FOR 2020 LICENSE RENEWAL. CONTINUING EDUCATION PERIOD: JANUARY 1, 2018 – DECEMBER 31, 2019

Regulations require that in order to renew a dental license applicants complete 30-hours of Board-approved continuing education per renewal period, including 2-hours of infection control, maintain CPR Certification, complete a 2-hour Board-approved course on pharmacology, <u>if required to do so</u>, and complete a 2-hour Board-approved course on abuse and neglect <u>as it relates to Maryland law, if required to do so</u>.

Licensees may complete a combined total of up to 4 hours of Board-approved courses in 1) cultural and linguistic competency, health disparities, and health literacy; and 2) military culture.

Up to 17 hours of self-study activity are permitted to meet the 30-hour requirement. Courses on money management, personal finance, personal business matters, including practice management, personal health and recreation, politics, memory training, speed reading, and HIPAA are not considered clinical and may not be applied toward the 30-hour continuing education requirement. For a copy of the Code of Maryland Regulations, Title 10, Subtitle 44, Chapter 22, Continuing Education, contact the Board at (410) 402-8509.

	COURSE TITLE OR NAME	CREDIT HOURS EARNED	DATE	NAME OF INSTRUCTOR OR SPONSOR	Check if Self Study
1.					
2.					
3.					
4.					
5.					
6.					
7.					
8.					
9.					
10.					
11.					
12.					
13.					
14.					
15.					
16.					
17.					
18.					
19.					

Infection Control Course:		
Pharmacology Course:		
Abuse and Neglect Course:		
Current CPR Card:	No CE	
	credit	