States that license Certified Professional Midwives 2012

Program State Licensed Agency Annual | Annual Cost of
Began | *Medicaid | Midwives Fees Program
2010 wy Alloutofstate | Board of Midwifery under $S600 $13,742
Dept of Prof Licensing
2009 ID Board of Midwifery under $550 $12,164
33 Board of Occupational
Licenses
2006 wi 38 Dept. of Regulation & $54 $23,788
Licensing
2005 VA 33 Board of Medicine S156
2005 uT 17 Dept. of Professional 545 $6,200
Licensure
2003 TN 31 Dept of Health $500 $7,179
(revenue $6,165)
2002 NJ 6 Board of Medical Examiners $135
2001 *VT 25 Dept of Professional $100
Regulation
2000 *NH 20 Dept. of Health $100
1999 TX 180 Dept of Health $275 $45,820
(revenue $50,935)
1999 MN 14 Board of Medicine $25
1999 *AK 30 Dept of Commerce $252
1993 *OR 55 Health Licensing Agency $950
1993 co 53 Dept of Regulatory Agencies $900
1993 *CA 172 Board of Medicine $100
1992 *FL 111 Dept of Health $250
1991 MT 21 Board of Alternative $250
Healthcare
1985 LA 10 Board of Medicine $100
1983 AR 30 Dept of Health No fee Not itemized
1981 *WA 100 Dept of Health $450 $138,731
1978 *NM 78 Dept of Health $25
1978 DE 1 Dept of Health & Social
Services
1977 *AZ 52 Dept of Health $12.50
1976 *SC 22° Dept of Health $75 Not itemized

States that accept a direct-entry route through ACNM: New York and Rhode Island

Missouri, Maine and Mississippi have statutes protecting the unregulated practice of CPMs
Florida is the only state that requires licensed midwives to carry malpractice insurance.
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List of states that license direct-entry midwifery as of 2012

Twenty-six states license or allow direct-entry midwives specifically to attend out-of-hospital births. All of these states
required the NARM Written Exam for licensure; some require the full CPM credential, and some require additional
schooling. Two states have a mechanism for licensing direct-entry midwives but require the ACNM-sponsored Certified
Midwife credential, available only to graduates of formal nurse-midwifery programs (New York and Rhode Island).

These states require the full CPM credential prior to application for licensure.

Delaware
Idaho
Minnesota
New Hampshire
Oregon

South Carolina
Tennessee
Texas
Vermont

Utah

Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming

These states have an application process that verifies training through apprenticeship and use the NARM Written
Examination as the licensure exam. The experience requirements of the NARM PEP program are closely equivalent and
therefore CPMs who move into the state are eligible for licensure. There may be some additional requirements for
licensure, such as additional births, state regs exams, or specific state-sanctioned classes which were set before the
development of the CPM.

Alaska
Arkansas
Arizona
California
Colorado
Florida
Louisiana
Montana
New Jersey
New Mexico
Washington

These states accept the NARM Exam for licensure, but also require some additional formal midwifery education in a
state-approved school; all of these additional requirements were set before the development of the CPM.

California
Florida
New Jersey
Washington

These states allow CPMs to practice with legal status but do not have licensure requirements:
Missouri
Maine

These states have AG opinions or other judicial interpretations that indicate midwifery does not violate the
medical practices act and therefore does not need to be licensed: Kansas, Nevada, Mississippi



