
The Maryland
Commemorative
Birth Certificate
Celebrate the joy of a new birth
or the life of a loved one!The Maryland Department of Health

and Mental Hygiene
Center for Maternal and Child Health

201 West Preston Street, Room 309
Baltimore, Maryland 21201

1-877-4MD-DHMH (463-3464)
Fax 410-333-5233

Maryland Relay 1-800-735-2258

Martin O’Malley, Governor
Anthony G. Brown, Lt. Governor

Joshua M. Sharfstein, M.D., Secretary

The  services and facilities of the Maryland Department
of Health and Mental Hygiene (DHMH) are operated
on a non-discriminatory basis. This policy prohibits
discrimination on the basis of race, color, sex, or
national origin and applies to the provisions of
employment and granting of advantages, privileges,
and accommodations.

The Department, in compliance with the Americans
With Disabilities Act, ensures that qualified individuals
with disabilities are given an opportunity  to participate
in and benefit from DHMH services, programs,
benefits, and employment opportunities.

The Commemorative Birth Certificate
Program is administered by
the Division of Vital Records,
Maryland Department
of Health and Mental Hygiene
6550 Reisterstown Road
Baltimore, Maryland 21215
410-764-3038
Toll Free 1-800-832-3277

Actual size: 11 X 14”
This is an official
legal document.

For more information
call 410-764-3038

or Toll Free 1-800-832-3277.



The Commemorative Birth
Certificate is a specially designed legal
birth certificate available to anyone born
in Maryland.  This is a unique keepsake
to celebrate the birth of a new child, or to
be given as a special gift to a friend or
relative born in Maryland.

The Commemorative Birth Certificate
features:

•  A design that includes the state flower,
the Black-eyed Susan

• Handwritten calligraphy
• A generous 11 x 14” size, on heirloom

quality paper suitable for framing
• An official embossed seal of the State

of Maryland
• A quotation from a Maryland poet,

Sister Maura Eichner
• The signature of Maryland’s Governor,

Martin O’Malley

Purchase of a Commemorative
Birth Certificate also
helps children in Maryland

Proceeds from the purchase of a
Commemorative Birth Certificate will be
deposited into the Children’s Trust Fund.
Administered by the Maryland Department
of Health and Mental Hygiene’s Center for
Maternal and Child Health, the Trust Fund
provides grants for programs and activities
for education, prevention and treatment of
child abuse and neglect.

The cost of a Commemorative Birth
Certificate is $30.00, $15 of which is
donated to the Children’s Trust Fund,
and is fully tax deductible.

To purchase a certificate, please complete
the application on the right, and send
it to:

Department of Health and
Mental Hygiene
Division of Vital Records
6550 Reisterstown Road
Baltimore, Maryland 21215

State regulations require that the
Commemorative Birth Certificate only
be issued to the person named on the
record, or a parent, legal guardian, or
authorized representative (having a
notarized letter of authorization from
the person on the record, parents, or
legal guardian).

The Commemorative Birth certificate will
be mailed directly to the person named
on the Certificate, or the eligible buyer
(those individuals listed above).

For  more information about the
Maryland Children’s  Trust Fund or the
Commemorative Birth Certificate
Program, visit the Center for Maternal
and Child Health’s Web site at
www.fha.state.md.us/mch.

Send a check or money order payable to The Division
of Vital Records to: DHMH, Division of Vital Records,
6550 Reisterstown Road, Baltimore, Maryland 21215.

PLEASE PRINT Date _______________

Name of record _____________________________________
First, middle, last

Date of birth _____________________  Sex _____________
Month/day/year

Place of birth  _______________________________________
City and county

Father’s full name  __________________________________
First, middle, last

Mother’s full name  _________________________________
First, middle, last

Your relationship to the person
listed on name of record ______________________________

NOTE: A non-refundable fee of $30.00 is required for each
certificate requested.  If the search provides no record,
$18.00 will be refunded, and a Certificate of No Record will
be issued.  A $12.00 search fee must be retained as required by
Maryland law.  You may apply in person or by mail.  You
must present a valid, unexpired, government-issued photo ID
displaying a date issued and an expiration date.  Applicants
unable to supply valid photo ID must present two different
pieces of alternative documentation.  Acceptable documents
are a pay stub, current car registration, bank statement, letter
from a government agency, lease/rental agreement, utility bill
with current address, or a copy of your income tax return or
W-2 form.  At least one of these documents must contain your
current mailing address.  Requests will be mailed to the
address displayed on the documents provided. Do not send
CASH or STAMPS.

Number of certified copies requested:  ________________

Applicant’s name: ___________________________________
Please print

Applicants signature  ________________________________

Mailing address:   ___________________________________
City, State, ZIP code

Telephone number___________________________________


