DEATH **Application for Certified Copy of Maryland Death Record Talbot County Health Department**

By my signature below, I state that I am the person I represent myself to be herein, and I affirm that the information submitted on this form is complete and accurate and submitted subject to the criminal penalties set forth at Maryland Code Annotated, Health-General Section 4-227.

Signature of person making request:	For Issuing Office Only	
Date of Application:	Department Photo ID	□ Mailed

NOTE: A copy of a death certificate may only be issued to applicants who have a direct and tangible interest in the content of the record as described in Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR) 10.03.08. This includes surviving relatives, an authorized representative, beneficiaries, and those with a business need or court order.

PRINT or TYPE your name & CURRENT address.

Name:	Your relationship to the pe- named on the Certificate:	erson
Address:		
City:	State:	Zip:
Daytime phone number: ()	E-mail Address:	

PHOTO ID REQUIRED: The individual requesting the record should submit a legible copy of his/her VALID GOVERNMENT-ISSUED PHOTO ID with completed application. (Examples: State issued driver's license or non-driver photo ID with requestor's current address; passport). If you do not have a Government-issued photo ID, read and sign the following statement: I declare that I do not have a government-issued photo ID and that I am presenting the attached two documents that include my name and current address as proof of identification. (Note: These documents must include two of the following: Utility bill, car registration form, pay stub. bank statement, copy of income tax return/W-2 form, letter from a government agency requesting a vital record, or lease/rental agreement. Please submit photocopies since these documents will not be returned to you. If you do not have a Government-issued photo ID, the certificate(s) will be mailed to the address listed on the documents that you present.)

ENTITLEMENT DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED: The requester must present documentation such as a birth or marriage certificate for a surviving relative, a letter of administration or authorization of release from a surviving relative or a court order or other business need documentation. For further information, visit the Vital Statistics Administration website at www.health.maryland.gov/vsa.

Signature:

PRINT or **TYPE** information below with regard to the individual named on the requested certificate:

Name of Decedent:

DEATH

Place of Death: ______ Name of funeral home: ______

Reason for requesting certificate:

	1	ORDER INFORMATION
Number of certificates requested		There is a non–refundable fee of \$20 for the first copy of a death certificate purchased in a single transaction.* There is a fee of \$22 for each additional copy of the same certificate purchased in the same transaction. Send check or money order. Do not send cash when applying by mail. When paying by check, you must include
Fee for first paid copy*	\$20	a copy of your driver's license or other government-issued photo ID that lists your current address, or other acceptable ID as noted above.
Fee for each additional copy	\$22	When ordering by mail, send completed application, <u>legible copy of ID</u> , documentation of entitlement, and check or money order payable to the: Talbot County Health Department , 100 South Hanson St. Easton , MD. 21601
Amount enclosed		You may also apply for a death record in person, on line, by telephone or by fax. For further information, visit the Vital Statistics Administration website at www.health.maryland.gov/vsa.
	1	*There is no fee for: (a) A copy of a certificate of a current or former armed forces member that is requested

by the member; or (b) A copy of a certificate of a current or former armed forces member or of a surviving spouse or child of the member, if the copy will be used in connection with a claim for a dependent or beneficiary of the member. Proof of service in the armed forces must

be provided. To obtain death records for genealogical purposes, contact the Maryland State Archives in Annapolis (telephone number 410-260-6400). Rev. 10/13/2020